Duquesne University ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Duquesne University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
Duquesne University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,432 applicants received 619 offers (43.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 157, the median grant was $30,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 89.7%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania · Report year 2025 · all Duquesne University data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 1,432 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 619 |
| Acceptance rate | 43.2% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 183 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 186 |
| First-year class size | 186 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 155 |
| LSAT median | 157 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 160 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.35 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.62 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.85 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 178 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 6 |
How Duquesne University compares within Pennsylvania
Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report acceptance rate, Duquesne University has the 2nd highest.
The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Widener University Commonwealth Law School | 60.4% | 150 | 909 |
| Duquesne University ← this school | 43.2% | 157 | 1,432 |
| Penn State Dickinson Law | 43.0% | 159 | 1,912 |
| University of Pittsburgh | 34.9% | 160 | 1,606 |
| Drexel University | 29.6% | 160 | 2,689 |
| Villanova University | 25.9% | 164 | 2,889 |
| Temple University | 24.4% | 165 | 3,043 |
| University of Pennsylvania | 8.1% | 173 | 8,074 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $58,898 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $58,898 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | not reported |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $1,220 |
| Living on campus | $24,318 |
| Living off campus | $24,318 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How Duquesne University compares within Pennsylvania
Among the 7 law schools in Pennsylvania that report annual tuition, Duquesne University has the 4th highest.
The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| University of Pennsylvania | $78,348 | $31,640 |
| Penn State Dickinson Law | $60,048 | $28,094 |
| Villanova University | $59,800 | $25,492 |
| Duquesne University ← this school | $58,898 | $24,318 |
| Drexel University | $57,000 | $28,022 |
| University of Pittsburgh | $39,936 | $20,346 |
| Temple University | $32,588 | $27,812 |
| Widener University Commonwealth Law School | — | $32,862 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 96.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $30,000 |
| 25th percentile grant | $20,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | $43,000 |
| Half tuition or less | 53.0% |
| Above half, below full | 27.0% |
| Full tuition | 16.0% |
| Above full tuition | 1.0% |
How Duquesne University compares within Pennsylvania
Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report median grant, Duquesne University has the 5th highest.
The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| University of Pennsylvania | $42,246 | 59.0% |
| Villanova University | $40,000 | 87.0% |
| Penn State Dickinson Law | $36,000 | 100.0% |
| Temple University | $31,334 | 85.0% |
| Duquesne University ← this school | $30,000 | 96.0% |
| University of Pittsburgh | $30,000 | 82.0% |
| Drexel University | $28,667 | 76.0% |
| Widener University Commonwealth Law School | $25,000 | 95.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 528 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 528 |
| First-year JD students | 186 |
| Non-JD students | 0 |
| First-year class size | 186 |
How Duquesne University compares within Pennsylvania
Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report jd students, Duquesne University has the 5th highest.
The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| University of Pennsylvania | 764 | 266 |
| Temple University | 685 | 237 |
| Penn State Dickinson Law | 665 | 215 |
| Villanova University | 597 | 232 |
| Duquesne University ← this school | 528 | 186 |
| Drexel University | 461 | 178 |
| Widener University Commonwealth Law School | 411 | 161 |
| University of Pittsburgh | 389 | 155 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 145 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 130 |
| First-time passage rate | 89.7% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 93.3% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 93.4% |
How Duquesne University compares within Pennsylvania
Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report first-time rate, Duquesne University has the 4th highest.
The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| University of Pennsylvania | 94.4% | 98.7% |
| University of Pittsburgh | 93.0% | 95.7% |
| Villanova University | 90.0% | 93.8% |
| Duquesne University ← this school | 89.7% | 93.4% |
| Temple University | 89.0% | 95.8% |
| Penn State Dickinson Law | 87.6% | 95.0% |
| Drexel University | 84.2% | 89.7% |
| Widener University Commonwealth Law School | 68.9% | 68.8% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 186 |
|---|---|
| White | 156 |
| Black | 4 |
| Hispanic | 12 |
| Asian | 6 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 2 |
| Race not reported | 6 |
| Men | 90 |
| Women | 92 |
| Another gender | 3 |
| Gender not reported | 1 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the Duquesne University 509 report show?
Duquesne University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,432 applicants received 619 offers (43.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 157, the median grant was $30,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 89.7%.
How does Duquesne University compare with other law schools in Pennsylvania?
Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report acceptance rate, Duquesne University has the 2nd highest.
How many applicants did Duquesne University receive, and how many were admitted?
Duquesne University received 1,432 completed applications and issued 619 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 43.2%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at Duquesne University?
For Duquesne University, in-state tuition is $58,898 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $24,318, the median grant is $30,000 per year, 96% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at Duquesne University?
Duquesne University had a first-time bar passage rate of 89.7% across 145 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 93.4%.