Temple University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Temple University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Temple University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,043 applicants received 742 offers (24.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 165, the median grant was $31,334 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 89.0%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania · Report year 2025 · all Temple University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications3,043
Offers of admission742
Acceptance rate24.4%
Enrollees from the applicant pool232
Enrolled in the first-year class237
First-year class size237
LSAT 25th percentile162
LSAT median165
LSAT 75th percentile168
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.59
Undergraduate GPA median3.76
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.9
Students who submitted LSAT scores229
Students who submitted GRE scores8

How Temple University compares within Pennsylvania

Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report acceptance rate, Temple University has the 7th highest.

The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Widener University Commonwealth Law School60.4%150909
Duquesne University43.2%1571,432
Penn State Dickinson Law43.0%1591,912
University of Pittsburgh34.9%1601,606
Drexel University29.6%1602,689
Villanova University25.9%1642,889
Temple University ← this school24.4%1653,043
University of Pennsylvania8.1%1738,074

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$32,588
Non-resident tuition (annual)$48,996
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,549
Living on campus$27,812
Living off campus$27,812
Tuition guaranteeno

How Temple University compares within Pennsylvania

Among the 7 law schools in Pennsylvania that report annual tuition, Temple University has the lowest.

The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Pennsylvania$78,348$31,640
Penn State Dickinson Law$60,048$28,094
Villanova University$59,800$25,492
Duquesne University$58,898$24,318
Drexel University$57,000$28,022
University of Pittsburgh$39,936$20,346
Temple University ← this school$32,588$27,812
Widener University Commonwealth Law School—$32,862

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid85.0%
Median grant (per year)$31,334
25th percentile grant$22,271
75th percentile grant$41,500
Half tuition or less19.0%
Above half, below full62.0%
Full tuition1.0%
Above full tuition3.0%

How Temple University compares within Pennsylvania

Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report median grant, Temple University has the 4th highest.

The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
University of Pennsylvania$42,24659.0%
Villanova University$40,00087.0%
Penn State Dickinson Law$36,000100.0%
Temple University ← this school$31,33485.0%
Duquesne University$30,00096.0%
University of Pittsburgh$30,00082.0%
Drexel University$28,66776.0%
Widener University Commonwealth Law School$25,00095.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled895
JD students (all years)685
First-year JD students237
Non-JD students210
First-year class size237

How Temple University compares within Pennsylvania

Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report jd students, Temple University has the 2nd highest.

The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers200
First-time passers178
First-time passage rate89.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)96.6%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)95.8%

How Temple University compares within Pennsylvania

Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report first-time rate, Temple University has the 5th highest.

The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
University of Pennsylvania94.4%98.7%
University of Pittsburgh93.0%95.7%
Villanova University90.0%93.8%
Duquesne University89.7%93.4%
Temple University ← this school89.0%95.8%
Penn State Dickinson Law87.6%95.0%
Drexel University84.2%89.7%
Widener University Commonwealth Law School68.9%68.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class237
White149
Black26
Hispanic23
Asian24
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial14
Race not reported0
Men105
Women123
Another gender7
Gender not reported2

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Temple University 509 report show?

Temple University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,043 applicants received 742 offers (24.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 165, the median grant was $31,334 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 89.0%.

How does Temple University compare with other law schools in Pennsylvania?

Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report acceptance rate, Temple University has the 7th highest.

How many applicants did Temple University receive, and how many were admitted?

Temple University received 3,043 completed applications and issued 742 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 24.4%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Temple University?

For Temple University, in-state tuition is $32,588 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $27,812, the median grant is $31,334 per year, 85% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Temple University?

Temple University had a first-time bar passage rate of 89.0% across 200 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 95.8%.