University of Pennsylvania ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Pennsylvania, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Pennsylvania's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 8,074 applicants received 650 offers (8.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 173, the median grant was $42,246 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.4%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania · Report year 2025 · all University of Pennsylvania data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications8,074
Offers of admission650
Acceptance rate8.1%
Enrollees from the applicant pool254
Enrolled in the first-year class266
First-year class size265
LSAT 25th percentile167
LSAT median173
LSAT 75th percentile174
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.77
Undergraduate GPA median3.95
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile4
Students who submitted LSAT scores256
Students who submitted GRE scores5

How University of Pennsylvania compares within Pennsylvania

Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report acceptance rate, University of Pennsylvania has the lowest.

The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Widener University Commonwealth Law School60.4%150909
Duquesne University43.2%1571,432
Penn State Dickinson Law43.0%1591,912
University of Pittsburgh34.9%1601,606
Drexel University29.6%1602,689
Villanova University25.9%1642,889
Temple University24.4%1653,043
University of Pennsylvania ← this school8.1%1738,074

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$78,348
Non-resident tuition (annual)$78,348
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$6,144
Living on campus$31,640
Living off campus$31,640
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of Pennsylvania compares within Pennsylvania

Among the 7 law schools in Pennsylvania that report annual tuition, University of Pennsylvania has the highest.

The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Pennsylvania ← this school$78,348$31,640
Penn State Dickinson Law$60,048$28,094
Villanova University$59,800$25,492
Duquesne University$58,898$24,318
Drexel University$57,000$28,022
University of Pittsburgh$39,936$20,346
Temple University$32,588$27,812
Widener University Commonwealth Law School—$32,862

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid59.0%
Median grant (per year)$42,246
25th percentile grant$29,512
75th percentile grant$60,000
Half tuition or less25.0%
Above half, below full21.0%
Full tuition13.0%
Above full tuition1.0%

How University of Pennsylvania compares within Pennsylvania

Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report median grant, University of Pennsylvania has the highest.

The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
University of Pennsylvania ← this school$42,24659.0%
Villanova University$40,00087.0%
Penn State Dickinson Law$36,000100.0%
Temple University$31,33485.0%
Duquesne University$30,00096.0%
University of Pittsburgh$30,00082.0%
Drexel University$28,66776.0%
Widener University Commonwealth Law School$25,00095.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,032
JD students (all years)764
First-year JD students266
Non-JD students268
First-year class size265

How University of Pennsylvania compares within Pennsylvania

Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report jd students, University of Pennsylvania has the highest.

The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
University of Pennsylvania ← this school764266
Temple University685237
Penn State Dickinson Law665215
Villanova University597232
Duquesne University528186
Drexel University461178
Widener University Commonwealth Law School411161
University of Pittsburgh389155

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers251
First-time passers237
First-time passage rate94.4%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)98.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)98.7%

How University of Pennsylvania compares within Pennsylvania

Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report first-time rate, University of Pennsylvania has the highest.

The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
University of Pennsylvania ← this school94.4%98.7%
University of Pittsburgh93.0%95.7%
Villanova University90.0%93.8%
Duquesne University89.7%93.4%
Temple University89.0%95.8%
Penn State Dickinson Law87.6%95.0%
Drexel University84.2%89.7%
Widener University Commonwealth Law School68.9%68.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class265
White141
Black10
Hispanic31
Asian60
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial9
Race not reported14
Men105
Women125
Another gender5
Gender not reported30

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Pennsylvania 509 report show?

University of Pennsylvania's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 8,074 applicants received 650 offers (8.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 173, the median grant was $42,246 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.4%.

How does University of Pennsylvania compare with other law schools in Pennsylvania?

Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report acceptance rate, University of Pennsylvania has the lowest.

How many applicants did University of Pennsylvania receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Pennsylvania received 8,074 completed applications and issued 650 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 8.1%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Pennsylvania?

For University of Pennsylvania, in-state tuition is $78,348 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $31,640, the median grant is $42,246 per year, 59% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Pennsylvania?

University of Pennsylvania had a first-time bar passage rate of 94.4% across 251 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 98.7%.