University of Pittsburgh ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Pittsburgh, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Pittsburgh's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,606 applicants received 560 offers (34.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 160, the median grant was $30,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 93.0%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania · Report year 2025 · all University of Pittsburgh data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications1,606
Offers of admission560
Acceptance rate34.9%
Enrollees from the applicant pool155
Enrolled in the first-year class155
First-year class size155
LSAT 25th percentile158
LSAT median160
LSAT 75th percentile163
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.26
Undergraduate GPA median3.54
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.74
Students who submitted LSAT scores146
Students who submitted GRE scores2

How University of Pittsburgh compares within Pennsylvania

Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report acceptance rate, University of Pittsburgh has the 4th highest.

The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Widener University Commonwealth Law School60.4%150909
Duquesne University43.2%1571,432
Penn State Dickinson Law43.0%1591,912
University of Pittsburgh ← this school34.9%1601,606
Drexel University29.6%1602,689
Villanova University25.9%1642,889
Temple University24.4%1653,043
University of Pennsylvania8.1%1738,074

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$39,936
Non-resident tuition (annual)$53,434
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,697
Living on campus$20,346
Living off campus$20,346
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of Pittsburgh compares within Pennsylvania

Among the 7 law schools in Pennsylvania that report annual tuition, University of Pittsburgh has the 6th highest.

The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Pennsylvania$78,348$31,640
Penn State Dickinson Law$60,048$28,094
Villanova University$59,800$25,492
Duquesne University$58,898$24,318
Drexel University$57,000$28,022
University of Pittsburgh ← this school$39,936$20,346
Temple University$32,588$27,812
Widener University Commonwealth Law School—$32,862

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid82.0%
Median grant (per year)$30,000
25th percentile grant$24,000
75th percentile grant$38,000
Half tuition or less21.0%
Above half, below full57.0%
Full tuition1.0%
Above full tuition2.0%

How University of Pittsburgh compares within Pennsylvania

Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report median grant, University of Pittsburgh has the 6th highest.

The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
University of Pennsylvania$42,24659.0%
Villanova University$40,00087.0%
Penn State Dickinson Law$36,000100.0%
Temple University$31,33485.0%
Duquesne University$30,00096.0%
University of Pittsburgh ← this school$30,00082.0%
Drexel University$28,66776.0%
Widener University Commonwealth Law School$25,00095.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled590
JD students (all years)389
First-year JD students155
Non-JD students201
First-year class size155

How University of Pittsburgh compares within Pennsylvania

Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report jd students, University of Pittsburgh has the lowest.

The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
University of Pennsylvania764266
Temple University685237
Penn State Dickinson Law665215
Villanova University597232
Duquesne University528186
Drexel University461178
Widener University Commonwealth Law School411161
University of Pittsburgh ← this school389155

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers115
First-time passers107
First-time passage rate93.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)96.2%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)95.7%

How University of Pittsburgh compares within Pennsylvania

Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report first-time rate, University of Pittsburgh has the 2nd highest.

The 8 law schools in Pennsylvania, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
University of Pennsylvania94.4%98.7%
University of Pittsburgh ← this school93.0%95.7%
Villanova University90.0%93.8%
Duquesne University89.7%93.4%
Temple University89.0%95.8%
Penn State Dickinson Law87.6%95.0%
Drexel University84.2%89.7%
Widener University Commonwealth Law School68.9%68.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class155
White107
Black8
Hispanic7
Asian15
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial12
Race not reported6
Men73
Women78
Another gender4
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Pittsburgh 509 report show?

University of Pittsburgh's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,606 applicants received 560 offers (34.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 160, the median grant was $30,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 93.0%.

How does University of Pittsburgh compare with other law schools in Pennsylvania?

Among the 8 law schools in Pennsylvania that report acceptance rate, University of Pittsburgh has the 4th highest.

How many applicants did University of Pittsburgh receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Pittsburgh received 1,606 completed applications and issued 560 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 34.9%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Pittsburgh?

For University of Pittsburgh, in-state tuition is $39,936 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $20,346, the median grant is $30,000 per year, 82% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Pittsburgh?

University of Pittsburgh had a first-time bar passage rate of 93.0% across 115 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 95.7%.