Ave Maria School of Law ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Ave Maria School of Law, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Ave Maria School of Law's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,212 applicants received 569 offers (47.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $30,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 77.5%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Naples, Florida · Report year 2025 · all Ave Maria School of Law data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications1,212
Offers of admission569
Acceptance rate47.0%
Enrollees from the applicant pool152
Enrolled in the first-year class151
First-year class size165
LSAT 25th percentile152
LSAT median155
LSAT 75th percentile158
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.07
Undergraduate GPA median3.36
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.66
Students who submitted LSAT scores162
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How Ave Maria School of Law compares within Florida

Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report acceptance rate, Ave Maria School of Law has the 4th highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
St. Thomas University (Miami)60.3%1521,771
Barry University55.9%1501,582
Nova Southeastern University47.3%1551,458
Ave Maria School of Law ← this school47.0%1551,212
Stetson University36.4%1592,791
Jacksonville University35.1%156572
Florida A&M University34.7%1521,546
University of Miami24.6%1644,593
Florida International University18.8%1613,100
University of Florida16.5%1693,887
Florida State University16.0%1662,711

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$49,500
Non-resident tuition (annual)$49,500
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$2,850
Living on campus$32,765
Living off campus$32,765
Tuition guaranteeno

How Ave Maria School of Law compares within Florida

Among the 7 law schools in Florida that report annual tuition, Ave Maria School of Law has the 3rd highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Miami$66,720$43,924
Stetson University$56,521$27,414
Ave Maria School of Law ← this school$49,500$32,765
Nova Southeastern University$49,350$40,413
St. Thomas University (Miami)$44,730$42,548
Barry University$42,000$32,008
University of Florida$19,139$26,646
Florida A&M University—$39,030
Florida International University—$33,176
Florida State University—$23,180
Jacksonville University—$24,911

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid73.0%
Median grant (per year)$30,000
25th percentile grant$7,365
75th percentile grant$47,400
Half tuition or less22.0%
Above half, below full48.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition4.0%

How Ave Maria School of Law compares within Florida

Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report median grant, Ave Maria School of Law has the 2nd highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
University of Miami$47,00065.0%
Ave Maria School of Law ← this school$30,00073.0%
St. Thomas University (Miami)$25,32064.0%
Stetson University$25,00088.0%
University of Florida$19,00088.0%
Jacksonville University$18,000100.0%
Barry University$16,00079.0%
Florida State University$15,46478.0%
Nova Southeastern University$15,00078.0%
Florida International University$10,36555.0%
Florida A&M University$7,50045.0%

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)116
Kept the award after year one76.7%
Award reduced or eliminated27

How Ave Maria School of Law compares within Florida

Among the 4 law schools in Florida that report retention rate, Ave Maria School of Law has the 2nd highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled334
JD students (all years)334
First-year JD students151
Non-JD students0
First-year class size165

How Ave Maria School of Law compares within Florida

Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report jd students, Ave Maria School of Law has the 10th highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers71
First-time passers55
First-time passage rate77.5%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)82.4%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)82.1%

How Ave Maria School of Law compares within Florida

Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report first-time rate, Ave Maria School of Law has the 8th highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Jacksonville University92.3%—
University of Florida90.2%97.2%
Florida State University88.8%94.0%
St. Thomas University (Miami)87.1%86.8%
Florida International University85.9%90.5%
University of Miami85.3%92.7%
Stetson University84.9%86.3%
Ave Maria School of Law ← this school77.5%82.1%
Florida A&M University74.7%81.0%
Nova Southeastern University74.5%90.0%
Barry University58.9%77.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class165
White101
Black6
Hispanic42
Asian4
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial0
Race not reported12
Men96
Women69
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Ave Maria School of Law 509 report show?

Ave Maria School of Law's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,212 applicants received 569 offers (47.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $30,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 77.5%.

How does Ave Maria School of Law compare with other law schools in Florida?

Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report acceptance rate, Ave Maria School of Law has the 4th highest.

How many applicants did Ave Maria School of Law receive, and how many were admitted?

Ave Maria School of Law received 1,212 completed applications and issued 569 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 47.0%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Ave Maria School of Law?

For Ave Maria School of Law, in-state tuition is $49,500 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $32,765, the median grant is $30,000 per year, 73% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Ave Maria School of Law?

Ave Maria School of Law had a first-time bar passage rate of 77.5% across 71 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 82.1%.