University of Miami ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Miami, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Miami's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,593 applicants received 1,132 offers (24.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $47,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.3%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Miami, Florida · Report year 2025 · all University of Miami data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications4,593
Offers of admission1,132
Acceptance rate24.6%
Enrollees from the applicant pool306
Enrolled in the first-year class313
First-year class size313
LSAT 25th percentile160
LSAT median164
LSAT 75th percentile165
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.58
Undergraduate GPA median3.79
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.88
Students who submitted LSAT scores310
Students who submitted GRE scores3

How University of Miami compares within Florida

Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report acceptance rate, University of Miami has the 8th highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
St. Thomas University (Miami)60.3%1521,771
Barry University55.9%1501,582
Nova Southeastern University47.3%1551,458
Ave Maria School of Law47.0%1551,212
Stetson University36.4%1592,791
Jacksonville University35.1%156572
Florida A&M University34.7%1521,546
University of Miami ← this school24.6%1644,593
Florida International University18.8%1613,100
University of Florida16.5%1693,887
Florida State University16.0%1662,711

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$66,720
Non-resident tuition (annual)$66,720
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$2,498
Living on campusnot reported
Living off campus$43,924
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of Miami compares within Florida

Among the 7 law schools in Florida that report annual tuition, University of Miami has the highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Miami ← this school$66,720$43,924
Stetson University$56,521$27,414
Ave Maria School of Law$49,500$32,765
Nova Southeastern University$49,350$40,413
St. Thomas University (Miami)$44,730$42,548
Barry University$42,000$32,008
University of Florida$19,139$26,646
Florida A&M University—$39,030
Florida International University—$33,176
Florida State University—$23,180
Jacksonville University—$24,911

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid65.0%
Median grant (per year)$47,000
25th percentile grant$39,374
75th percentile grant$52,188
Half tuition or less10.0%
Above half, below full55.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How University of Miami compares within Florida

Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report median grant, University of Miami has the highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
University of Miami ← this school$47,00065.0%
Ave Maria School of Law$30,00073.0%
St. Thomas University (Miami)$25,32064.0%
Stetson University$25,00088.0%
University of Florida$19,00088.0%
Jacksonville University$18,000100.0%
Barry University$16,00079.0%
Florida State University$15,46478.0%
Nova Southeastern University$15,00078.0%
Florida International University$10,36555.0%
Florida A&M University$7,50045.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,227
JD students (all years)993
First-year JD students313
Non-JD students234
First-year class size313

How University of Miami compares within Florida

Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report jd students, University of Miami has the 3rd highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers367
First-time passers313
First-time passage rate85.3%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)91.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)92.7%

How University of Miami compares within Florida

Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report first-time rate, University of Miami has the 6th highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Jacksonville University92.3%—
University of Florida90.2%97.2%
Florida State University88.8%94.0%
St. Thomas University (Miami)87.1%86.8%
Florida International University85.9%90.5%
University of Miami ← this school85.3%92.7%
Stetson University84.9%86.3%
Ave Maria School of Law77.5%82.1%
Florida A&M University74.7%81.0%
Nova Southeastern University74.5%90.0%
Barry University58.9%77.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class313
White128
Black15
Hispanic123
Asian12
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial11
Race not reported24
Men128
Women181
Another gender3
Gender not reported1

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Miami 509 report show?

University of Miami's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,593 applicants received 1,132 offers (24.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $47,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.3%.

How does University of Miami compare with other law schools in Florida?

Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report acceptance rate, University of Miami has the 8th highest.

How many applicants did University of Miami receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Miami received 4,593 completed applications and issued 1,132 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 24.6%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Miami?

For University of Miami, in-state tuition is $66,720 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $43,924, the median grant is $47,000 per year, 65% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Miami?

University of Miami had a first-time bar passage rate of 85.3% across 367 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 92.7%.