Florida International University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Florida International University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Florida International University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,100 applicants received 582 offers (18.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 161, the median grant was $10,365 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.9%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Miami, Florida · Report year 2025 · all Florida International University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications3,100
Offers of admission582
Acceptance rate18.8%
Enrollees from the applicant pool175
Enrolled in the first-year class173
First-year class size175
LSAT 25th percentile159
LSAT median161
LSAT 75th percentile162
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.66
Undergraduate GPA median3.8
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.89
Students who submitted LSAT scores171
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How Florida International University compares within Florida

Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report acceptance rate, Florida International University has the 9th highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
St. Thomas University (Miami)60.3%1521,771
Barry University55.9%1501,582
Nova Southeastern University47.3%1551,458
Ave Maria School of Law47.0%1551,212
Stetson University36.4%1592,791
Jacksonville University35.1%156572
Florida A&M University34.7%1521,546
University of Miami24.6%1644,593
Florida International University ← this school18.8%1613,100
University of Florida16.5%1693,887
Florida State University16.0%1662,711

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)not reported
Non-resident tuition (annual)not reported
Tuition reporting basisper credit hour
Per credit hour$691
Mandatory fees (full-time)not reported
Living on campus$22,616
Living off campus$33,176
Tuition guaranteeno

How Florida International University compares within Florida

Florida International University does not report annual tuition, so it cannot be placed among the 11 law schools in this state.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Miami$66,720$43,924
Stetson University$56,521$27,414
Ave Maria School of Law$49,500$32,765
Nova Southeastern University$49,350$40,413
St. Thomas University (Miami)$44,730$42,548
Barry University$42,000$32,008
University of Florida$19,139$26,646
Florida A&M University—$39,030
Florida International University ← this school—$33,176
Florida State University—$23,180
Jacksonville University—$24,911

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid55.0%
Median grant (per year)$10,365
25th percentile grant$7,000
75th percentile grant$20,716
Half tuition or less28.0%
Above half, below full11.0%
Full tuition9.0%
Above full tuition6.0%

How Florida International University compares within Florida

Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report median grant, Florida International University has the 10th highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
University of Miami$47,00065.0%
Ave Maria School of Law$30,00073.0%
St. Thomas University (Miami)$25,32064.0%
Stetson University$25,00088.0%
University of Florida$19,00088.0%
Jacksonville University$18,000100.0%
Barry University$16,00079.0%
Florida State University$15,46478.0%
Nova Southeastern University$15,00078.0%
Florida International University ← this school$10,36555.0%
Florida A&M University$7,50045.0%

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)91
Kept the award after year one82.4%
Award reduced or eliminated16

How Florida International University compares within Florida

Among the 4 law schools in Florida that report retention rate, Florida International University has the highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolRetention rateEntering with award
Florida International University ← this school82.4%91
Ave Maria School of Law76.7%116
St. Thomas University (Miami)46.1%102
Barry University41.5%253
Florida A&M University——
Florida State University——
Jacksonville University——
Nova Southeastern University——
Stetson University——
University of Florida——
University of Miami——

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled666
JD students (all years)581
First-year JD students173
Non-JD students85
First-year class size175

How Florida International University compares within Florida

Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report jd students, Florida International University has the 7th highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers156
First-time passers134
First-time passage rate85.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)96.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)90.5%

How Florida International University compares within Florida

Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report first-time rate, Florida International University has the 5th highest.

The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Jacksonville University92.3%—
University of Florida90.2%97.2%
Florida State University88.8%94.0%
St. Thomas University (Miami)87.1%86.8%
Florida International University ← this school85.9%90.5%
University of Miami85.3%92.7%
Stetson University84.9%86.3%
Ave Maria School of Law77.5%82.1%
Florida A&M University74.7%81.0%
Nova Southeastern University74.5%90.0%
Barry University58.9%77.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class175
White52
Black7
Hispanic96
Asian9
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander1
Multiracial0
Race not reported9
Men76
Women96
Another gender2
Gender not reported1

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Florida International University 509 report show?

Florida International University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,100 applicants received 582 offers (18.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 161, the median grant was $10,365 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.9%.

How does Florida International University compare with other law schools in Florida?

Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report acceptance rate, Florida International University has the 9th highest.

How many applicants did Florida International University receive, and how many were admitted?

Florida International University received 3,100 completed applications and issued 582 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 18.8%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Florida International University?

For Florida International University, tuition is reported per credit hour at $691, off-campus living costs are estimated at $33,176, the median grant is $10,365 per year, 55% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Florida International University?

Florida International University had a first-time bar passage rate of 85.9% across 156 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 90.5%.