St. Thomas University (Miami) ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for St. Thomas University (Miami), laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
St. Thomas University (Miami)'s 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,771 applicants received 1,067 offers (60.3%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 152, the median grant was $25,320 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 87.1%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Miami, Florida · Report year 2025 · all St. Thomas University (Miami) data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 1,771 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 1,067 |
| Acceptance rate | 60.3% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 409 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 432 |
| First-year class size | 431 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 150 |
| LSAT median | 152 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 156 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.12 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.42 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.65 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 435 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 0 |
How St. Thomas University (Miami) compares within Florida
Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report acceptance rate, St. Thomas University (Miami) has the highest.
The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| St. Thomas University (Miami) ← this school | 60.3% | 152 | 1,771 |
| Barry University | 55.9% | 150 | 1,582 |
| Nova Southeastern University | 47.3% | 155 | 1,458 |
| Ave Maria School of Law | 47.0% | 155 | 1,212 |
| Stetson University | 36.4% | 159 | 2,791 |
| Jacksonville University | 35.1% | 156 | 572 |
| Florida A&M University | 34.7% | 152 | 1,546 |
| University of Miami | 24.6% | 164 | 4,593 |
| Florida International University | 18.8% | 161 | 3,100 |
| University of Florida | 16.5% | 169 | 3,887 |
| Florida State University | 16.0% | 166 | 2,711 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $44,730 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $44,730 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | not reported |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $2,848 |
| Living on campus | $34,772 |
| Living off campus | $42,548 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How St. Thomas University (Miami) compares within Florida
Among the 7 law schools in Florida that report annual tuition, St. Thomas University (Miami) has the 5th highest.
The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| University of Miami | $66,720 | $43,924 |
| Stetson University | $56,521 | $27,414 |
| Ave Maria School of Law | $49,500 | $32,765 |
| Nova Southeastern University | $49,350 | $40,413 |
| St. Thomas University (Miami) ← this school | $44,730 | $42,548 |
| Barry University | $42,000 | $32,008 |
| University of Florida | $19,139 | $26,646 |
| Florida A&M University | — | $39,030 |
| Florida International University | — | $33,176 |
| Florida State University | — | $23,180 |
| Jacksonville University | — | $24,911 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 64.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $25,320 |
| 25th percentile grant | $12,500 |
| 75th percentile grant | $34,750 |
| Half tuition or less | 29.0% |
| Above half, below full | 35.0% |
| Full tuition | 0.0% |
| Above full tuition | 0.0% |
How St. Thomas University (Miami) compares within Florida
Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report median grant, St. Thomas University (Miami) has the 3rd highest.
The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| University of Miami | $47,000 | 65.0% |
| Ave Maria School of Law | $30,000 | 73.0% |
| St. Thomas University (Miami) ← this school | $25,320 | 64.0% |
| Stetson University | $25,000 | 88.0% |
| University of Florida | $19,000 | 88.0% |
| Jacksonville University | $18,000 | 100.0% |
| Barry University | $16,000 | 79.0% |
| Florida State University | $15,464 | 78.0% |
| Nova Southeastern University | $15,000 | 78.0% |
| Florida International University | $10,365 | 55.0% |
| Florida A&M University | $7,500 | 45.0% |
Conditional scholarships
Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.
Source: Standard 509(b)(3)
| Offers conditional scholarships | yes |
|---|---|
| Entering with a conditional award (2024) | 102 |
| Kept the award after year one | 46.1% |
| Award reduced or eliminated | 55 |
How St. Thomas University (Miami) compares within Florida
Among the 4 law schools in Florida that report retention rate, St. Thomas University (Miami) has the 3rd highest.
The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Retention rate | Entering with award |
|---|---|---|
| Florida International University | 82.4% | 91 |
| Ave Maria School of Law | 76.7% | 116 |
| St. Thomas University (Miami) ← this school | 46.1% | 102 |
| Barry University | 41.5% | 253 |
| Florida A&M University | — | — |
| Florida State University | — | — |
| Jacksonville University | — | — |
| Nova Southeastern University | — | — |
| Stetson University | — | — |
| University of Florida | — | — |
| University of Miami | — | — |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 1,046 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 998 |
| First-year JD students | 432 |
| Non-JD students | 48 |
| First-year class size | 431 |
How St. Thomas University (Miami) compares within Florida
Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report jd students, St. Thomas University (Miami) has the 2nd highest.
The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Stetson University | 1,009 | 342 |
| St. Thomas University (Miami) ← this school | 998 | 432 |
| University of Miami | 993 | 313 |
| Barry University | 723 | 266 |
| University of Florida | 658 | 230 |
| Nova Southeastern University | 634 | 225 |
| Florida International University | 581 | 173 |
| Florida State University | 455 | 153 |
| Florida A&M University | 383 | 181 |
| Ave Maria School of Law | 334 | 151 |
| Jacksonville University | 135 | 72 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 170 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 148 |
| First-time passage rate | 87.1% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 86.6% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 86.8% |
How St. Thomas University (Miami) compares within Florida
Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report first-time rate, St. Thomas University (Miami) has the 4th highest.
The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| Jacksonville University | 92.3% | — |
| University of Florida | 90.2% | 97.2% |
| Florida State University | 88.8% | 94.0% |
| St. Thomas University (Miami) ← this school | 87.1% | 86.8% |
| Florida International University | 85.9% | 90.5% |
| University of Miami | 85.3% | 92.7% |
| Stetson University | 84.9% | 86.3% |
| Ave Maria School of Law | 77.5% | 82.1% |
| Florida A&M University | 74.7% | 81.0% |
| Nova Southeastern University | 74.5% | 90.0% |
| Barry University | 58.9% | 77.8% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 431 |
|---|---|
| White | 107 |
| Black | 28 |
| Hispanic | 282 |
| Asian | 7 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 1 |
| Multiracial | 1 |
| Race not reported | 5 |
| Men | 179 |
| Women | 235 |
| Another gender | 17 |
| Gender not reported | 0 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the St. Thomas University (Miami) 509 report show?
St. Thomas University (Miami)'s 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,771 applicants received 1,067 offers (60.3%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 152, the median grant was $25,320 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 87.1%.
How does St. Thomas University (Miami) compare with other law schools in Florida?
Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report acceptance rate, St. Thomas University (Miami) has the highest.
How many applicants did St. Thomas University (Miami) receive, and how many were admitted?
St. Thomas University (Miami) received 1,771 completed applications and issued 1,067 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 60.3%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at St. Thomas University (Miami)?
For St. Thomas University (Miami), in-state tuition is $44,730 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $42,548, the median grant is $25,320 per year, 64% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at St. Thomas University (Miami)?
St. Thomas University (Miami) had a first-time bar passage rate of 87.1% across 170 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 86.8%.