Florida State University ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Florida State University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
Florida State University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,711 applicants received 433 offers (16.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 166, the median grant was $15,464 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 88.8%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Tallahassee, Florida · Report year 2025 · all Florida State University data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 2,711 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 433 |
| Acceptance rate | 16.0% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 153 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 153 |
| First-year class size | 153 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 158 |
| LSAT median | 166 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 167 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.6 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.93 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.99 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 140 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 2 |
How Florida State University compares within Florida
Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report acceptance rate, Florida State University has the lowest.
The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| St. Thomas University (Miami) | 60.3% | 152 | 1,771 |
| Barry University | 55.9% | 150 | 1,582 |
| Nova Southeastern University | 47.3% | 155 | 1,458 |
| Ave Maria School of Law | 47.0% | 155 | 1,212 |
| Stetson University | 36.4% | 159 | 2,791 |
| Jacksonville University | 35.1% | 156 | 572 |
| Florida A&M University | 34.7% | 152 | 1,546 |
| University of Miami | 24.6% | 164 | 4,593 |
| Florida International University | 18.8% | 161 | 3,100 |
| University of Florida | 16.5% | 169 | 3,887 |
| Florida State University ← this school | 16.0% | 166 | 2,711 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | not reported |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | not reported |
| Tuition reporting basis | per credit hour |
| Per credit hour | $688 |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | not reported |
| Living on campus | $23,180 |
| Living off campus | $23,180 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How Florida State University compares within Florida
Florida State University does not report annual tuition, so it cannot be placed among the 11 law schools in this state.
The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| University of Miami | $66,720 | $43,924 |
| Stetson University | $56,521 | $27,414 |
| Ave Maria School of Law | $49,500 | $32,765 |
| Nova Southeastern University | $49,350 | $40,413 |
| St. Thomas University (Miami) | $44,730 | $42,548 |
| Barry University | $42,000 | $32,008 |
| University of Florida | $19,139 | $26,646 |
| Florida A&M University | — | $39,030 |
| Florida International University | — | $33,176 |
| Florida State University ← this school | — | $23,180 |
| Jacksonville University | — | $24,911 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 78.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $15,464 |
| 25th percentile grant | $5,737 |
| 75th percentile grant | $20,640 |
| Half tuition or less | 25.0% |
| Above half, below full | 25.0% |
| Full tuition | 12.0% |
| Above full tuition | 16.0% |
How Florida State University compares within Florida
Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report median grant, Florida State University has the 8th highest.
The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| University of Miami | $47,000 | 65.0% |
| Ave Maria School of Law | $30,000 | 73.0% |
| St. Thomas University (Miami) | $25,320 | 64.0% |
| Stetson University | $25,000 | 88.0% |
| University of Florida | $19,000 | 88.0% |
| Jacksonville University | $18,000 | 100.0% |
| Barry University | $16,000 | 79.0% |
| Florida State University ← this school | $15,464 | 78.0% |
| Nova Southeastern University | $15,000 | 78.0% |
| Florida International University | $10,365 | 55.0% |
| Florida A&M University | $7,500 | 45.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 1,419 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 455 |
| First-year JD students | 153 |
| Non-JD students | 964 |
| First-year class size | 153 |
How Florida State University compares within Florida
Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report jd students, Florida State University has the 8th highest.
The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Stetson University | 1,009 | 342 |
| St. Thomas University (Miami) | 998 | 432 |
| University of Miami | 993 | 313 |
| Barry University | 723 | 266 |
| University of Florida | 658 | 230 |
| Nova Southeastern University | 634 | 225 |
| Florida International University | 581 | 173 |
| Florida State University ← this school | 455 | 153 |
| Florida A&M University | 383 | 181 |
| Ave Maria School of Law | 334 | 151 |
| Jacksonville University | 135 | 72 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 134 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 119 |
| First-time passage rate | 88.8% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 93.9% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 94.0% |
How Florida State University compares within Florida
Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report first-time rate, Florida State University has the 3rd highest.
The 11 law schools in Florida, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| Jacksonville University | 92.3% | — |
| University of Florida | 90.2% | 97.2% |
| Florida State University ← this school | 88.8% | 94.0% |
| St. Thomas University (Miami) | 87.1% | 86.8% |
| Florida International University | 85.9% | 90.5% |
| University of Miami | 85.3% | 92.7% |
| Stetson University | 84.9% | 86.3% |
| Ave Maria School of Law | 77.5% | 82.1% |
| Florida A&M University | 74.7% | 81.0% |
| Nova Southeastern University | 74.5% | 90.0% |
| Barry University | 58.9% | 77.8% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 153 |
|---|---|
| White | 111 |
| Black | 10 |
| Hispanic | 18 |
| Asian | 7 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 1 |
| Race not reported | 6 |
| Men | 70 |
| Women | 83 |
| Another gender | 0 |
| Gender not reported | 0 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the Florida State University 509 report show?
Florida State University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,711 applicants received 433 offers (16.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 166, the median grant was $15,464 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 88.8%.
How does Florida State University compare with other law schools in Florida?
Among the 11 law schools in Florida that report acceptance rate, Florida State University has the lowest.
How many applicants did Florida State University receive, and how many were admitted?
Florida State University received 2,711 completed applications and issued 433 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 16.0%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at Florida State University?
For Florida State University, tuition is reported per credit hour at $688, off-campus living costs are estimated at $23,180, the median grant is $15,464 per year, 78% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at Florida State University?
Florida State University had a first-time bar passage rate of 88.8% across 134 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 94.0%.