Northern Kentucky University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Northern Kentucky University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Northern Kentucky University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 661 applicants received 388 offers (58.7%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $18,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 76.2%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Highland Heights, Kentucky · Report year 2025 · all Northern Kentucky University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications661
Offers of admission388
Acceptance rate58.7%
Enrollees from the applicant pool147
Enrolled in the first-year class156
First-year class size155
LSAT 25th percentile152
LSAT median154
LSAT 75th percentile157
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.15
Undergraduate GPA median3.41
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.68
Students who submitted LSAT scores148
Students who submitted GRE scores4

How Northern Kentucky University compares within Kentucky

Among the 3 law schools in Kentucky that report acceptance rate, Northern Kentucky University has the 2nd highest.

The 3 law schools in Kentucky, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
University of Louisville63.4%157579
Northern Kentucky University ← this school58.7%154661
University of Kentucky40.8%1591,236

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$24,388
Non-resident tuition (annual)$38,454
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hour$938
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,004
Living on campus$16,212
Living off campus$20,932
Tuition guaranteeno

How Northern Kentucky University compares within Kentucky

Among the 3 law schools in Kentucky that report annual tuition, Northern Kentucky University has the lowest.

The 3 law schools in Kentucky, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Louisville$27,000$26,966
University of Kentucky$25,685$28,425
Northern Kentucky University ← this school$24,388$20,932

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid58.0%
Median grant (per year)$18,000
25th percentile grant$10,000
75th percentile grant$25,000
Half tuition or less25.0%
Above half, below full32.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition1.0%

How Northern Kentucky University compares within Kentucky

Among the 3 law schools in Kentucky that report median grant, Northern Kentucky University has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Kentucky, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Northern Kentucky University ← this school$18,00058.0%
University of Louisville$12,00075.0%
University of Kentucky$11,00098.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled412
JD students (all years)412
First-year JD students156
Non-JD students0
First-year class size155

How Northern Kentucky University compares within Kentucky

Among the 3 law schools in Kentucky that report jd students, Northern Kentucky University has the 2nd highest.

The 3 law schools in Kentucky, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
University of Kentucky419148
Northern Kentucky University ← this school412156
University of Louisville377145

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers84
First-time passers64
First-time passage rate76.2%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)92.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)92.8%

How Northern Kentucky University compares within Kentucky

Among the 3 law schools in Kentucky that report first-time rate, Northern Kentucky University has the lowest.

The 3 law schools in Kentucky, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
University of Louisville84.5%85.8%
University of Kentucky79.8%89.4%
Northern Kentucky University ← this school76.2%92.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class155
White116
Black11
Hispanic11
Asian2
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial3
Race not reported12
Men57
Women98
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Northern Kentucky University 509 report show?

Northern Kentucky University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 661 applicants received 388 offers (58.7%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $18,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 76.2%.

How does Northern Kentucky University compare with other law schools in Kentucky?

Among the 3 law schools in Kentucky that report acceptance rate, Northern Kentucky University has the 2nd highest.

How many applicants did Northern Kentucky University receive, and how many were admitted?

Northern Kentucky University received 661 completed applications and issued 388 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 58.7%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Northern Kentucky University?

For Northern Kentucky University, in-state tuition is $24,388 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $20,932, the median grant is $18,000 per year, 58% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Northern Kentucky University?

Northern Kentucky University had a first-time bar passage rate of 76.2% across 84 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 92.8%.