Mitchell/Hamline School of Law ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Mitchell/Hamline School of Law, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Mitchell/Hamline School of Law's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,603 applicants received 824 offers (51.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $34,730 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 72.0%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Saint Paul, Minnesota · Report year 2025 · all Mitchell/Hamline School of Law data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications1,603
Offers of admission824
Acceptance rate51.4%
Enrollees from the applicant pool360
Enrolled in the first-year class372
First-year class size364
LSAT 25th percentile151
LSAT median154
LSAT 75th percentile158
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile2.96
Undergraduate GPA median3.29
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.6
Students who submitted LSAT scores364
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How Mitchell/Hamline School of Law compares within Minnesota

Among the 3 law schools in Minnesota that report acceptance rate, Mitchell/Hamline School of Law has the 2nd highest.

The 3 law schools in Minnesota, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
St. Thomas, (Minneapolis) University of57.6%159847
Mitchell/Hamline School of Law ← this school51.4%1541,603
University of Minnesota26.7%1713,405

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$55,300
Non-resident tuition (annual)$55,300
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,000
Living on campusnot reported
Living off campus$16,848
Tuition guaranteeno

How Mitchell/Hamline School of Law compares within Minnesota

Among the 3 law schools in Minnesota that report annual tuition, Mitchell/Hamline School of Law has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Minnesota, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Mitchell/Hamline School of Law ← this school$55,300$16,848
University of Minnesota$51,440$19,600
St. Thomas, (Minneapolis) University of$50,998$27,408

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid100.0%
Median grant (per year)$34,730
25th percentile grant$21,372
75th percentile grant$42,744
Half tuition or less57.0%
Above half, below full39.0%
Full tuition5.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Mitchell/Hamline School of Law compares within Minnesota

Among the 3 law schools in Minnesota that report median grant, Mitchell/Hamline School of Law has the 2nd highest.

The 3 law schools in Minnesota, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
University of Minnesota$35,00094.0%
Mitchell/Hamline School of Law ← this school$34,730100.0%
St. Thomas, (Minneapolis) University of$26,865100.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,170
JD students (all years)1,144
First-year JD students372
Non-JD students26
First-year class size364

How Mitchell/Hamline School of Law compares within Minnesota

Among the 3 law schools in Minnesota that report jd students, Mitchell/Hamline School of Law has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Minnesota, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Mitchell/Hamline School of Law ← this school1,144372
University of Minnesota655229
St. Thomas, (Minneapolis) University of486166

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers328
First-time passers236
First-time passage rate72.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)83.1%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)83.3%

How Mitchell/Hamline School of Law compares within Minnesota

Among the 3 law schools in Minnesota that report first-time rate, Mitchell/Hamline School of Law has the lowest.

The 3 law schools in Minnesota, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
University of Minnesota95.3%98.7%
St. Thomas, (Minneapolis) University of85.1%86.5%
Mitchell/Hamline School of Law ← this school72.0%83.3%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class364
White206
Black44
Hispanic42
Asian11
American Indian or Alaska Native8
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander2
Multiracial15
Race not reported36
Men123
Women201
Another gender8
Gender not reported32

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Mitchell/Hamline School of Law 509 report show?

Mitchell/Hamline School of Law's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,603 applicants received 824 offers (51.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $34,730 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 72.0%.

How does Mitchell/Hamline School of Law compare with other law schools in Minnesota?

Among the 3 law schools in Minnesota that report acceptance rate, Mitchell/Hamline School of Law has the 2nd highest.

How many applicants did Mitchell/Hamline School of Law receive, and how many were admitted?

Mitchell/Hamline School of Law received 1,603 completed applications and issued 824 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 51.4%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Mitchell/Hamline School of Law?

For Mitchell/Hamline School of Law, in-state tuition is $55,300 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $16,848, the median grant is $34,730 per year, 100% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Mitchell/Hamline School of Law?

Mitchell/Hamline School of Law had a first-time bar passage rate of 72.0% across 328 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 83.3%.