University of Minnesota ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Minnesota, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
University of Minnesota's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,405 applicants received 909 offers (26.7%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 171, the median grant was $35,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 95.3%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Minneapolis, Minnesota · Report year 2025 · all University of Minnesota data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 3,405 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 909 |
| Acceptance rate | 26.7% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 225 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 229 |
| First-year class size | 228 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 166 |
| LSAT median | 171 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 173 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.62 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.88 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.95 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 228 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 0 |
How University of Minnesota compares within Minnesota
Among the 3 law schools in Minnesota that report acceptance rate, University of Minnesota has the lowest.
The 3 law schools in Minnesota, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| St. Thomas, (Minneapolis) University of | 57.6% | 159 | 847 |
| Mitchell/Hamline School of Law | 51.4% | 154 | 1,603 |
| University of Minnesota ← this school | 26.7% | 171 | 3,405 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $51,440 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $61,845 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | $2,143 |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $2,678 |
| Living on campus | $19,600 |
| Living off campus | $19,600 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How University of Minnesota compares within Minnesota
Among the 3 law schools in Minnesota that report annual tuition, University of Minnesota has the 2nd highest.
The 3 law schools in Minnesota, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| Mitchell/Hamline School of Law | $55,300 | $16,848 |
| University of Minnesota ← this school | $51,440 | $19,600 |
| St. Thomas, (Minneapolis) University of | $50,998 | $27,408 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 94.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $35,000 |
| 25th percentile grant | $25,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | $48,528 |
| Half tuition or less | 43.0% |
| Above half, below full | 50.0% |
| Full tuition | 1.0% |
| Above full tuition | 0.0% |
How University of Minnesota compares within Minnesota
Among the 3 law schools in Minnesota that report median grant, University of Minnesota has the highest.
The 3 law schools in Minnesota, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| University of Minnesota ← this school | $35,000 | 94.0% |
| Mitchell/Hamline School of Law | $34,730 | 100.0% |
| St. Thomas, (Minneapolis) University of | $26,865 | 100.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 707 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 655 |
| First-year JD students | 229 |
| Non-JD students | 52 |
| First-year class size | 228 |
How University of Minnesota compares within Minnesota
Among the 3 law schools in Minnesota that report jd students, University of Minnesota has the 2nd highest.
The 3 law schools in Minnesota, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Mitchell/Hamline School of Law | 1,144 | 372 |
| University of Minnesota ← this school | 655 | 229 |
| St. Thomas, (Minneapolis) University of | 486 | 166 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 213 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 203 |
| First-time passage rate | 95.3% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 96.1% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 98.7% |
How University of Minnesota compares within Minnesota
Among the 3 law schools in Minnesota that report first-time rate, University of Minnesota has the highest.
The 3 law schools in Minnesota, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| University of Minnesota ← this school | 95.3% | 98.7% |
| St. Thomas, (Minneapolis) University of | 85.1% | 86.5% |
| Mitchell/Hamline School of Law | 72.0% | 83.3% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 228 |
|---|---|
| White | 172 |
| Black | 4 |
| Hispanic | 20 |
| Asian | 16 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 12 |
| Race not reported | 4 |
| Men | 103 |
| Women | 114 |
| Another gender | 10 |
| Gender not reported | 1 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the University of Minnesota 509 report show?
University of Minnesota's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,405 applicants received 909 offers (26.7%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 171, the median grant was $35,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 95.3%.
How does University of Minnesota compare with other law schools in Minnesota?
Among the 3 law schools in Minnesota that report acceptance rate, University of Minnesota has the lowest.
How many applicants did University of Minnesota receive, and how many were admitted?
University of Minnesota received 3,405 completed applications and issued 909 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 26.7%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Minnesota?
For University of Minnesota, in-state tuition is $51,440 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $19,600, the median grant is $35,000 per year, 94% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at University of Minnesota?
University of Minnesota had a first-time bar passage rate of 95.3% across 213 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 98.7%.