Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 325 applicants received 200 offers (61.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 139, the median grant was $1,593 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 44.9%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Ponce, Puerto Rico · Report year 2025 · all Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications325
Offers of admission200
Acceptance rate61.5%
Enrollees from the applicant pool161
Enrolled in the first-year class194
First-year class size161
LSAT 25th percentile136
LSAT median139
LSAT 75th percentile143
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile2.97
Undergraduate GPA median3.33
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.61
Students who submitted LSAT scores97
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico compares within Puerto Rico

Among the 3 law schools in Puerto Rico that report acceptance rate, Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Puerto Rico, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico ← this school61.5%139325
Inter American University of Puerto Rico50.9%144542
University of Puerto Rico39.7%152383

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)not reported
Non-resident tuition (annual)not reported
Tuition reporting basisper credit hour
Per credit hour$540
Mandatory fees (full-time)not reported
Living on campus$20,807
Living off campus$26,644
Tuition guaranteeno

How Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico compares within Puerto Rico

Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico does not report annual tuition, so it cannot be placed among the 3 law schools in this state.

The 3 law schools in Puerto Rico, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Inter American University of Puerto Rico$16,585$25,286
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico ← this school—$26,644
University of Puerto Rico—$23,501

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid24.0%
Median grant (per year)$1,593
25th percentile grant$1,000
75th percentile grant$4,372
Half tuition or less20.0%
Above half, below full2.0%
Full tuition1.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico compares within Puerto Rico

Among the 3 law schools in Puerto Rico that report median grant, Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico has the 2nd highest.

The 3 law schools in Puerto Rico, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Inter American University of Puerto Rico$2,3798.0%
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico ← this school$1,59324.0%
University of Puerto Rico$1,00050.0%

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)85
Kept the award after year one85.9%
Award reduced or eliminated12

How Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico compares within Puerto Rico

Among the 2 law schools in Puerto Rico that report retention rate, Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico has the lowest.

The 3 law schools in Puerto Rico, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolRetention rateEntering with award
Inter American University of Puerto Rico100.0%2
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico ← this school85.9%85
University of Puerto Rico——

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled479
JD students (all years)479
First-year JD students194
Non-JD students0
First-year class size161

How Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico compares within Puerto Rico

Among the 3 law schools in Puerto Rico that report jd students, Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico has the 2nd highest.

The 3 law schools in Puerto Rico, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Inter American University of Puerto Rico611174
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico ← this school479194
University of Puerto Rico444122

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers136
First-time passers61
First-time passage rate44.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)83.3%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)64.5%

How Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico compares within Puerto Rico

Among the 3 law schools in Puerto Rico that report first-time rate, Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico has the lowest.

The 3 law schools in Puerto Rico, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
University of Puerto Rico75.7%81.2%
Inter American University of Puerto Rico56.0%79.2%
Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico ← this school44.9%64.5%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class161
White0
Black0
Hispanic0
Asian0
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial0
Race not reported161
Men59
Women102
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico 509 report show?

Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 325 applicants received 200 offers (61.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 139, the median grant was $1,593 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 44.9%.

How does Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico compare with other law schools in Puerto Rico?

Among the 3 law schools in Puerto Rico that report acceptance rate, Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico has the highest.

How many applicants did Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico receive, and how many were admitted?

Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico received 325 completed applications and issued 200 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 61.5%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico?

For Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico, tuition is reported per credit hour at $540, off-campus living costs are estimated at $26,644, the median grant is $1,593 per year, 24% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico?

Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico had a first-time bar passage rate of 44.9% across 136 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 64.5%.