Capital University Law School ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Capital University Law School, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
Capital University Law School's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 874 applicants received 576 offers (65.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 151, the median grant was $21,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 73.7%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Columbus, Ohio · Report year 2025 · all Capital University Law School data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 874 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 576 |
| Acceptance rate | 65.9% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 174 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 185 |
| First-year class size | 180 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 148 |
| LSAT median | 151 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 157 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.07 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.44 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.66 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 180 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 0 |
How Capital University Law School compares within Ohio
Among the 8 law schools in Ohio that report acceptance rate, Capital University Law School has the highest.
The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Capital University Law School ← this school | 65.9% | 151 | 874 |
| The University of Akron | 58.5% | 154 | 762 |
| The University of Toledo | 52.5% | 153 | 733 |
| Case Western Reserve University | 34.8% | 162 | 2,267 |
| Cleveland State University | 34.5% | 155 | 1,733 |
| University of Cincinnati | 32.7% | 159 | 1,353 |
| University of Dayton | 30.7% | 157 | 1,611 |
| The Ohio State University | 24.6% | 168 | 2,291 |
| Ohio Northern University | — | 149 | 1,355 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $45,066 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $45,066 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | $1,554 |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $390 |
| Living on campus | $21,112 |
| Living off campus | $21,112 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How Capital University Law School compares within Ohio
Among the 8 law schools in Ohio that report annual tuition, Capital University Law School has the 2nd highest.
The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| Case Western Reserve University | $64,600 | $32,008 |
| Capital University Law School ← this school | $45,066 | $21,112 |
| The Ohio State University | $35,650 | $23,692 |
| Ohio Northern University | $33,900 | $22,022 |
| Cleveland State University | $29,766 | $21,870 |
| The University of Toledo | $26,446 | $24,247 |
| University of Cincinnati | $24,010 | $25,956 |
| The University of Akron | $22,359 | $5,500 |
| University of Dayton | — | $19,395 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 96.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $21,000 |
| 25th percentile grant | $12,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | $32,000 |
| Half tuition or less | 57.0% |
| Above half, below full | 39.0% |
| Full tuition | 0.0% |
| Above full tuition | 0.0% |
How Capital University Law School compares within Ohio
Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report median grant, Capital University Law School has the 4th highest.
The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| Case Western Reserve University | $42,500 | 98.0% |
| University of Dayton | $33,000 | 102.0% |
| The Ohio State University | $29,984 | 90.0% |
| Capital University Law School ← this school | $21,000 | 96.0% |
| The University of Toledo | $20,000 | 82.0% |
| University of Cincinnati | $19,000 | 100.0% |
| Ohio Northern University | $17,250 | 79.0% |
| Cleveland State University | $11,000 | 98.0% |
| The University of Akron | $9,000 | 94.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 484 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 483 |
| First-year JD students | 185 |
| Non-JD students | 1 |
| First-year class size | 180 |
How Capital University Law School compares within Ohio
Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report jd students, Capital University Law School has the 4th highest.
The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Case Western Reserve University | 531 | 180 |
| Cleveland State University | 495 | 196 |
| The Ohio State University | 486 | 159 |
| Capital University Law School ← this school | 483 | 185 |
| The University of Akron | 473 | 236 |
| University of Dayton | 442 | 170 |
| University of Cincinnati | 398 | 137 |
| The University of Toledo | 368 | 130 |
| Ohio Northern University | 319 | 129 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 114 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 84 |
| First-time passage rate | 73.7% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 95.2% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 77.9% |
How Capital University Law School compares within Ohio
Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report first-time rate, Capital University Law School has the 6th highest.
The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| The Ohio State University | 93.1% | 96.6% |
| University of Dayton | 87.5% | 94.3% |
| University of Cincinnati | 85.1% | 92.6% |
| Case Western Reserve University | 77.5% | 85.9% |
| The University of Toledo | 77.4% | 81.1% |
| Capital University Law School ← this school | 73.7% | 77.9% |
| Cleveland State University | 72.7% | 91.1% |
| The University of Akron | 70.2% | 87.5% |
| Ohio Northern University | 56.4% | 82.8% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 180 |
|---|---|
| White | 122 |
| Black | 19 |
| Hispanic | 10 |
| Asian | 7 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 9 |
| Race not reported | 13 |
| Men | 79 |
| Women | 101 |
| Another gender | 0 |
| Gender not reported | 0 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the Capital University Law School 509 report show?
Capital University Law School's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 874 applicants received 576 offers (65.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 151, the median grant was $21,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 73.7%.
How does Capital University Law School compare with other law schools in Ohio?
Among the 8 law schools in Ohio that report acceptance rate, Capital University Law School has the highest.
How many applicants did Capital University Law School receive, and how many were admitted?
Capital University Law School received 874 completed applications and issued 576 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 65.9%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at Capital University Law School?
For Capital University Law School, in-state tuition is $45,066 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $21,112, the median grant is $21,000 per year, 96% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at Capital University Law School?
Capital University Law School had a first-time bar passage rate of 73.7% across 114 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 77.9%.