Ohio Northern University ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Ohio Northern University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
Ohio Northern University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,355 applicants received 0 offers, the entering class had a median LSAT of 149, the median grant was $17,250 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 56.4%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Ada, Ohio · Report year 2025 · all Ohio Northern University data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 1,355 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 0 |
| Acceptance rate | not reported |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 129 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 129 |
| First-year class size | 129 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 146 |
| LSAT median | 149 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 151 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.06 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.34 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.67 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 125 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 0 |
How Ohio Northern University compares within Ohio
Ohio Northern University does not report acceptance rate, so it cannot be placed among the 9 law schools in this state.
The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Capital University Law School | 65.9% | 151 | 874 |
| The University of Akron | 58.5% | 154 | 762 |
| The University of Toledo | 52.5% | 153 | 733 |
| Case Western Reserve University | 34.8% | 162 | 2,267 |
| Cleveland State University | 34.5% | 155 | 1,733 |
| University of Cincinnati | 32.7% | 159 | 1,353 |
| University of Dayton | 30.7% | 157 | 1,611 |
| The Ohio State University | 24.6% | 168 | 2,291 |
| Ohio Northern University ← this school | — | 149 | 1,355 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $33,900 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $33,900 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | not reported |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | not reported |
| Living on campus | $23,154 |
| Living off campus | $22,022 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How Ohio Northern University compares within Ohio
Among the 8 law schools in Ohio that report annual tuition, Ohio Northern University has the 4th highest.
The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| Case Western Reserve University | $64,600 | $32,008 |
| Capital University Law School | $45,066 | $21,112 |
| The Ohio State University | $35,650 | $23,692 |
| Ohio Northern University ← this school | $33,900 | $22,022 |
| Cleveland State University | $29,766 | $21,870 |
| The University of Toledo | $26,446 | $24,247 |
| University of Cincinnati | $24,010 | $25,956 |
| The University of Akron | $22,359 | $5,500 |
| University of Dayton | — | $19,395 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 79.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $17,250 |
| 25th percentile grant | $9,125 |
| 75th percentile grant | $25,700 |
| Half tuition or less | 44.0% |
| Above half, below full | 27.0% |
| Full tuition | 4.0% |
| Above full tuition | 4.0% |
How Ohio Northern University compares within Ohio
Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report median grant, Ohio Northern University has the 7th highest.
The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| Case Western Reserve University | $42,500 | 98.0% |
| University of Dayton | $33,000 | 102.0% |
| The Ohio State University | $29,984 | 90.0% |
| Capital University Law School | $21,000 | 96.0% |
| The University of Toledo | $20,000 | 82.0% |
| University of Cincinnati | $19,000 | 100.0% |
| Ohio Northern University ← this school | $17,250 | 79.0% |
| Cleveland State University | $11,000 | 98.0% |
| The University of Akron | $9,000 | 94.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 319 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 319 |
| First-year JD students | 129 |
| Non-JD students | 0 |
| First-year class size | 129 |
How Ohio Northern University compares within Ohio
Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report jd students, Ohio Northern University has the lowest.
The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Case Western Reserve University | 531 | 180 |
| Cleveland State University | 495 | 196 |
| The Ohio State University | 486 | 159 |
| Capital University Law School | 483 | 185 |
| The University of Akron | 473 | 236 |
| University of Dayton | 442 | 170 |
| University of Cincinnati | 398 | 137 |
| The University of Toledo | 368 | 130 |
| Ohio Northern University ← this school | 319 | 129 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 39 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 22 |
| First-time passage rate | 56.4% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 79.3% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 82.8% |
How Ohio Northern University compares within Ohio
Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report first-time rate, Ohio Northern University has the lowest.
The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| The Ohio State University | 93.1% | 96.6% |
| University of Dayton | 87.5% | 94.3% |
| University of Cincinnati | 85.1% | 92.6% |
| Case Western Reserve University | 77.5% | 85.9% |
| The University of Toledo | 77.4% | 81.1% |
| Capital University Law School | 73.7% | 77.9% |
| Cleveland State University | 72.7% | 91.1% |
| The University of Akron | 70.2% | 87.5% |
| Ohio Northern University ← this school | 56.4% | 82.8% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 129 |
|---|---|
| White | 0 |
| Black | 0 |
| Hispanic | 0 |
| Asian | 0 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 0 |
| Race not reported | 129 |
| Men | 62 |
| Women | 66 |
| Another gender | 0 |
| Gender not reported | 1 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the Ohio Northern University 509 report show?
Ohio Northern University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,355 applicants received 0 offers, the entering class had a median LSAT of 149, the median grant was $17,250 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 56.4%.
How does Ohio Northern University compare with other law schools in Ohio?
Ohio Northern University does not report acceptance rate, so it cannot be placed among the 9 law schools in this state.
How many applicants did Ohio Northern University receive, and how many were admitted?
Ohio Northern University received 1,355 completed applications and issued 0 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of not separately reported.
What is the tuition and grant aid at Ohio Northern University?
For Ohio Northern University, in-state tuition is $33,900 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $22,022, the median grant is $17,250 per year, 79% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at Ohio Northern University?
Ohio Northern University had a first-time bar passage rate of 56.4% across 39 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 82.8%.