Cleveland State University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Cleveland State University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Cleveland State University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,733 applicants received 597 offers (34.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $11,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 72.7%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Cleveland, Ohio · Report year 2025 · all Cleveland State University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications1,733
Offers of admission597
Acceptance rate34.5%
Enrollees from the applicant pool195
Enrolled in the first-year class196
First-year class size195
LSAT 25th percentile152
LSAT median155
LSAT 75th percentile158
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.11
Undergraduate GPA median3.5
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.76
Students who submitted LSAT scores189
Students who submitted GRE scores8

How Cleveland State University compares within Ohio

Among the 8 law schools in Ohio that report acceptance rate, Cleveland State University has the 5th highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Capital University Law School65.9%151874
The University of Akron58.5%154762
The University of Toledo52.5%153733
Case Western Reserve University34.8%1622,267
Cleveland State University ← this school34.5%1551,733
University of Cincinnati32.7%1591,353
University of Dayton30.7%1571,611
The Ohio State University24.6%1682,291
Ohio Northern University—1491,355

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$29,766
Non-resident tuition (annual)$29,866
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,800
Living on campus$21,870
Living off campus$21,870
Tuition guaranteeno

How Cleveland State University compares within Ohio

Among the 8 law schools in Ohio that report annual tuition, Cleveland State University has the 5th highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Case Western Reserve University$64,600$32,008
Capital University Law School$45,066$21,112
The Ohio State University$35,650$23,692
Ohio Northern University$33,900$22,022
Cleveland State University ← this school$29,766$21,870
The University of Toledo$26,446$24,247
University of Cincinnati$24,010$25,956
The University of Akron$22,359$5,500
University of Dayton—$19,395

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid98.0%
Median grant (per year)$11,000
25th percentile grant$6,000
75th percentile grant$18,000
Half tuition or less69.0%
Above half, below full29.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Cleveland State University compares within Ohio

Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report median grant, Cleveland State University has the 8th highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Case Western Reserve University$42,50098.0%
University of Dayton$33,000102.0%
The Ohio State University$29,98490.0%
Capital University Law School$21,00096.0%
The University of Toledo$20,00082.0%
University of Cincinnati$19,000100.0%
Ohio Northern University$17,25079.0%
Cleveland State University ← this school$11,00098.0%
The University of Akron$9,00094.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled549
JD students (all years)495
First-year JD students196
Non-JD students54
First-year class size195

How Cleveland State University compares within Ohio

Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report jd students, Cleveland State University has the 2nd highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers117
First-time passers85
First-time passage rate72.7%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)89.3%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)91.1%

How Cleveland State University compares within Ohio

Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report first-time rate, Cleveland State University has the 7th highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
The Ohio State University93.1%96.6%
University of Dayton87.5%94.3%
University of Cincinnati85.1%92.6%
Case Western Reserve University77.5%85.9%
The University of Toledo77.4%81.1%
Capital University Law School73.7%77.9%
Cleveland State University ← this school72.7%91.1%
The University of Akron70.2%87.5%
Ohio Northern University56.4%82.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class195
White147
Black14
Hispanic2
Asian9
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial19
Race not reported4
Men82
Women110
Another gender1
Gender not reported2

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Cleveland State University 509 report show?

Cleveland State University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,733 applicants received 597 offers (34.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $11,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 72.7%.

How does Cleveland State University compare with other law schools in Ohio?

Among the 8 law schools in Ohio that report acceptance rate, Cleveland State University has the 5th highest.

How many applicants did Cleveland State University receive, and how many were admitted?

Cleveland State University received 1,733 completed applications and issued 597 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 34.5%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Cleveland State University?

For Cleveland State University, in-state tuition is $29,766 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $21,870, the median grant is $11,000 per year, 98% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Cleveland State University?

Cleveland State University had a first-time bar passage rate of 72.7% across 117 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 91.1%.