University of Dayton ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Dayton, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Dayton's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,611 applicants received 494 offers (30.7%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 157, the median grant was $33,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 87.5%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Dayton, Ohio · Report year 2025 · all University of Dayton data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications1,611
Offers of admission494
Acceptance rate30.7%
Enrollees from the applicant pool167
Enrolled in the first-year class170
First-year class size168
LSAT 25th percentile154
LSAT median157
LSAT 75th percentile160
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.31
Undergraduate GPA median3.6
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.87
Students who submitted LSAT scores145
Students who submitted GRE scores6

How University of Dayton compares within Ohio

Among the 8 law schools in Ohio that report acceptance rate, University of Dayton has the 7th highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Capital University Law School65.9%151874
The University of Akron58.5%154762
The University of Toledo52.5%153733
Case Western Reserve University34.8%1622,267
Cleveland State University34.5%1551,733
University of Cincinnati32.7%1591,353
University of Dayton ← this school30.7%1571,611
The Ohio State University24.6%1682,291
Ohio Northern University—1491,355

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)not reported
Non-resident tuition (annual)not reported
Tuition reporting basisper credit hour
Per credit hour$1,380
Mandatory fees (full-time)not reported
Living on campus$19,395
Living off campus$19,395
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of Dayton compares within Ohio

University of Dayton does not report annual tuition, so it cannot be placed among the 9 law schools in this state.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Case Western Reserve University$64,600$32,008
Capital University Law School$45,066$21,112
The Ohio State University$35,650$23,692
Ohio Northern University$33,900$22,022
Cleveland State University$29,766$21,870
The University of Toledo$26,446$24,247
University of Cincinnati$24,010$25,956
The University of Akron$22,359$5,500
University of Dayton ← this school—$19,395

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid102.0%
Median grant (per year)$33,000
25th percentile grant$28,000
75th percentile grant$37,000
Half tuition or less16.0%
Above half, below full80.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition6.0%

How University of Dayton compares within Ohio

Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report median grant, University of Dayton has the 2nd highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Case Western Reserve University$42,50098.0%
University of Dayton ← this school$33,000102.0%
The Ohio State University$29,98490.0%
Capital University Law School$21,00096.0%
The University of Toledo$20,00082.0%
University of Cincinnati$19,000100.0%
Ohio Northern University$17,25079.0%
Cleveland State University$11,00098.0%
The University of Akron$9,00094.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled696
JD students (all years)442
First-year JD students170
Non-JD students254
First-year class size168

How University of Dayton compares within Ohio

Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report jd students, University of Dayton has the 6th highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers88
First-time passers77
First-time passage rate87.5%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)97.3%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)94.3%

How University of Dayton compares within Ohio

Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report first-time rate, University of Dayton has the 2nd highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
The Ohio State University93.1%96.6%
University of Dayton ← this school87.5%94.3%
University of Cincinnati85.1%92.6%
Case Western Reserve University77.5%85.9%
The University of Toledo77.4%81.1%
Capital University Law School73.7%77.9%
Cleveland State University72.7%91.1%
The University of Akron70.2%87.5%
Ohio Northern University56.4%82.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class168
White127
Black9
Hispanic13
Asian4
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander1
Multiracial6
Race not reported8
Men79
Women86
Another gender1
Gender not reported2

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Dayton 509 report show?

University of Dayton's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,611 applicants received 494 offers (30.7%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 157, the median grant was $33,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 87.5%.

How does University of Dayton compare with other law schools in Ohio?

Among the 8 law schools in Ohio that report acceptance rate, University of Dayton has the 7th highest.

How many applicants did University of Dayton receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Dayton received 1,611 completed applications and issued 494 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 30.7%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Dayton?

For University of Dayton, tuition is reported per credit hour at $1,380, off-campus living costs are estimated at $19,395, the median grant is $33,000 per year, 102% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Dayton?

University of Dayton had a first-time bar passage rate of 87.5% across 88 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 94.3%.