The Ohio State University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for The Ohio State University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

The Ohio State University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,291 applicants received 564 offers (24.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 168, the median grant was $29,984 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 93.1%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Columbus, Ohio · Report year 2025 · all The Ohio State University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,291
Offers of admission564
Acceptance rate24.6%
Enrollees from the applicant pool158
Enrolled in the first-year class159
First-year class size159
LSAT 25th percentile163
LSAT median168
LSAT 75th percentile169
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.64
Undergraduate GPA median3.91
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.97
Students who submitted LSAT scores157
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How The Ohio State University compares within Ohio

Among the 8 law schools in Ohio that report acceptance rate, The Ohio State University has the lowest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Capital University Law School65.9%151874
The University of Akron58.5%154762
The University of Toledo52.5%153733
Case Western Reserve University34.8%1622,267
Cleveland State University34.5%1551,733
University of Cincinnati32.7%1591,353
University of Dayton30.7%1571,611
The Ohio State University ← this school24.6%1682,291
Ohio Northern University—1491,355

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$35,650
Non-resident tuition (annual)$50,902
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hour$2,163
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,613
Living on campus$23,692
Living off campus$23,692
Tuition guaranteeno

How The Ohio State University compares within Ohio

Among the 8 law schools in Ohio that report annual tuition, The Ohio State University has the 3rd highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Case Western Reserve University$64,600$32,008
Capital University Law School$45,066$21,112
The Ohio State University ← this school$35,650$23,692
Ohio Northern University$33,900$22,022
Cleveland State University$29,766$21,870
The University of Toledo$26,446$24,247
University of Cincinnati$24,010$25,956
The University of Akron$22,359$5,500
University of Dayton—$19,395

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid90.0%
Median grant (per year)$29,984
25th percentile grant$17,360
75th percentile grant$37,220
Half tuition or less16.0%
Above half, below full37.0%
Full tuition29.0%
Above full tuition7.0%

How The Ohio State University compares within Ohio

Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report median grant, The Ohio State University has the 3rd highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Case Western Reserve University$42,50098.0%
University of Dayton$33,000102.0%
The Ohio State University ← this school$29,98490.0%
Capital University Law School$21,00096.0%
The University of Toledo$20,00082.0%
University of Cincinnati$19,000100.0%
Ohio Northern University$17,25079.0%
Cleveland State University$11,00098.0%
The University of Akron$9,00094.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled611
JD students (all years)486
First-year JD students159
Non-JD students125
First-year class size159

How The Ohio State University compares within Ohio

Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report jd students, The Ohio State University has the 3rd highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers160
First-time passers149
First-time passage rate93.1%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)96.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)96.6%

How The Ohio State University compares within Ohio

Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report first-time rate, The Ohio State University has the highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
The Ohio State University ← this school93.1%96.6%
University of Dayton87.5%94.3%
University of Cincinnati85.1%92.6%
Case Western Reserve University77.5%85.9%
The University of Toledo77.4%81.1%
Capital University Law School73.7%77.9%
Cleveland State University72.7%91.1%
The University of Akron70.2%87.5%
Ohio Northern University56.4%82.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class159
White110
Black6
Hispanic3
Asian11
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial12
Race not reported17
Men74
Women80
Another gender5
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the The Ohio State University 509 report show?

The Ohio State University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,291 applicants received 564 offers (24.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 168, the median grant was $29,984 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 93.1%.

How does The Ohio State University compare with other law schools in Ohio?

Among the 8 law schools in Ohio that report acceptance rate, The Ohio State University has the lowest.

How many applicants did The Ohio State University receive, and how many were admitted?

The Ohio State University received 2,291 completed applications and issued 564 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 24.6%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at The Ohio State University?

For The Ohio State University, in-state tuition is $35,650 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $23,692, the median grant is $29,984 per year, 90% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at The Ohio State University?

The Ohio State University had a first-time bar passage rate of 93.1% across 160 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 96.6%.