The University of Akron ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for The University of Akron, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

The University of Akron's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 762 applicants received 446 offers (58.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $9,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 70.2%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Akron, Ohio · Report year 2025 · all The University of Akron data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications762
Offers of admission446
Acceptance rate58.5%
Enrollees from the applicant pool199
Enrolled in the first-year class236
First-year class size203
LSAT 25th percentile151
LSAT median154
LSAT 75th percentile157
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.22
Undergraduate GPA median3.51
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.76
Students who submitted LSAT scores194
Students who submitted GRE scores6

How The University of Akron compares within Ohio

Among the 8 law schools in Ohio that report acceptance rate, The University of Akron has the 2nd highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Capital University Law School65.9%151874
The University of Akron ← this school58.5%154762
The University of Toledo52.5%153733
Case Western Reserve University34.8%1622,267
Cleveland State University34.5%1551,733
University of Cincinnati32.7%1591,353
University of Dayton30.7%1571,611
The Ohio State University24.6%1682,291
Ohio Northern University—1491,355

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$22,359
Non-resident tuition (annual)$22,359
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hour$745
Mandatory fees (full-time)$4,290
Living on campus$11,550
Living off campus$5,500
Tuition guaranteeno

How The University of Akron compares within Ohio

Among the 8 law schools in Ohio that report annual tuition, The University of Akron has the lowest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Case Western Reserve University$64,600$32,008
Capital University Law School$45,066$21,112
The Ohio State University$35,650$23,692
Ohio Northern University$33,900$22,022
Cleveland State University$29,766$21,870
The University of Toledo$26,446$24,247
University of Cincinnati$24,010$25,956
The University of Akron ← this school$22,359$5,500
University of Dayton—$19,395

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid94.0%
Median grant (per year)$9,000
25th percentile grant$3,000
75th percentile grant$18,300
Half tuition or less59.0%
Above half, below full33.0%
Full tuition1.0%
Above full tuition1.0%

How The University of Akron compares within Ohio

Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report median grant, The University of Akron has the lowest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Case Western Reserve University$42,50098.0%
University of Dayton$33,000102.0%
The Ohio State University$29,98490.0%
Capital University Law School$21,00096.0%
The University of Toledo$20,00082.0%
University of Cincinnati$19,000100.0%
Ohio Northern University$17,25079.0%
Cleveland State University$11,00098.0%
The University of Akron ← this school$9,00094.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled494
JD students (all years)473
First-year JD students236
Non-JD students21
First-year class size203

How The University of Akron compares within Ohio

Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report jd students, The University of Akron has the 5th highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers124
First-time passers87
First-time passage rate70.2%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)89.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)87.5%

How The University of Akron compares within Ohio

Among the 9 law schools in Ohio that report first-time rate, The University of Akron has the 8th highest.

The 9 law schools in Ohio, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
The Ohio State University93.1%96.6%
University of Dayton87.5%94.3%
University of Cincinnati85.1%92.6%
Case Western Reserve University77.5%85.9%
The University of Toledo77.4%81.1%
Capital University Law School73.7%77.9%
Cleveland State University72.7%91.1%
The University of Akron ← this school70.2%87.5%
Ohio Northern University56.4%82.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class203
White161
Black6
Hispanic10
Asian15
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial9
Race not reported2
Men94
Women102
Another gender0
Gender not reported7

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the The University of Akron 509 report show?

The University of Akron's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 762 applicants received 446 offers (58.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $9,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 70.2%.

How does The University of Akron compare with other law schools in Ohio?

Among the 8 law schools in Ohio that report acceptance rate, The University of Akron has the 2nd highest.

How many applicants did The University of Akron receive, and how many were admitted?

The University of Akron received 762 completed applications and issued 446 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 58.5%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at The University of Akron?

For The University of Akron, in-state tuition is $22,359 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $5,500, the median grant is $9,000 per year, 94% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at The University of Akron?

The University of Akron had a first-time bar passage rate of 70.2% across 124 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 87.5%.