Appalachian School of Law ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Appalachian School of Law, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
Appalachian School of Law's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 732 applicants received 446 offers (60.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 146, the median grant was $10,250 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 54.8%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Grundy, Virginia · Report year 2025 · all Appalachian School of Law data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 732 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 446 |
| Acceptance rate | 60.9% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 84 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 93 |
| First-year class size | 92 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 145 |
| LSAT median | 146 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 151 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 2.72 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.2 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.53 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 92 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 0 |
How Appalachian School of Law compares within Virginia
Among the 8 law schools in Virginia that report acceptance rate, Appalachian School of Law has the highest.
The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Appalachian School of Law ← this school | 60.9% | 146 | 732 |
| Liberty University | 58.8% | 154 | 628 |
| Regent University | 44.3% | 158 | 537 |
| University of Richmond | 39.6% | 164 | 1,738 |
| Washington and Lee University | 22.7% | 167 | 2,341 |
| William & Mary | 22.0% | 166 | 2,176 |
| George Mason University | 15.9% | 169 | 2,792 |
| University of Virginia | 10.2% | 173 | 6,734 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $41,000 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $41,000 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | not reported |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | not reported |
| Living on campus | not reported |
| Living off campus | $41,800 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How Appalachian School of Law compares within Virginia
Among the 7 law schools in Virginia that report annual tuition, Appalachian School of Law has the 5th highest.
The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| University of Virginia | $74,078 | $28,770 |
| University of Richmond | $57,700 | $26,510 |
| Washington and Lee University | $57,450 | $21,890 |
| Liberty University | $43,150 | $26,532 |
| Appalachian School of Law ← this school | $41,000 | $41,800 |
| William & Mary | $38,734 | $25,184 |
| George Mason University | $24,864 | $38,342 |
| Regent University | — | $32,268 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 87.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $10,250 |
| 25th percentile grant | $5,500 |
| 75th percentile grant | $24,600 |
| Half tuition or less | 55.0% |
| Above half, below full | 19.0% |
| Full tuition | 7.0% |
| Above full tuition | 6.0% |
How Appalachian School of Law compares within Virginia
Among the 8 law schools in Virginia that report median grant, Appalachian School of Law has the lowest.
The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| University of Richmond | $40,000 | 81.0% |
| University of Virginia | $35,000 | 66.0% |
| Washington and Lee University | $33,500 | 97.0% |
| William & Mary | $29,302 | 66.0% |
| Liberty University | $24,000 | 100.0% |
| Regent University | $22,500 | 97.0% |
| George Mason University | $21,000 | 84.0% |
| Appalachian School of Law ← this school | $10,250 | 87.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 182 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 182 |
| First-year JD students | 93 |
| Non-JD students | 0 |
| First-year class size | 92 |
How Appalachian School of Law compares within Virginia
Among the 8 law schools in Virginia that report jd students, Appalachian School of Law has the lowest.
The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| University of Virginia | 919 | 309 |
| William & Mary | 496 | 184 |
| George Mason University | 438 | 159 |
| University of Richmond | 407 | 140 |
| Washington and Lee University | 369 | 131 |
| Regent University | 341 | 127 |
| Liberty University | 326 | 142 |
| Appalachian School of Law ← this school | 182 | 93 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 42 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 23 |
| First-time passage rate | 54.8% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 91.5% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 94.6% |
How Appalachian School of Law compares within Virginia
Among the 8 law schools in Virginia that report first-time rate, Appalachian School of Law has the lowest.
The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| University of Virginia | 95.1% | 98.0% |
| Washington and Lee University | 93.5% | 95.8% |
| William & Mary | 92.8% | 94.0% |
| University of Richmond | 91.3% | 91.8% |
| Regent University | 91.3% | 94.8% |
| George Mason University | 86.3% | 92.1% |
| Liberty University | 85.3% | 93.7% |
| Appalachian School of Law ← this school | 54.8% | 94.6% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 92 |
|---|---|
| White | 56 |
| Black | 6 |
| Hispanic | 4 |
| Asian | 7 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 17 |
| Race not reported | 2 |
| Men | 38 |
| Women | 51 |
| Another gender | 2 |
| Gender not reported | 1 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the Appalachian School of Law 509 report show?
Appalachian School of Law's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 732 applicants received 446 offers (60.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 146, the median grant was $10,250 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 54.8%.
How does Appalachian School of Law compare with other law schools in Virginia?
Among the 8 law schools in Virginia that report acceptance rate, Appalachian School of Law has the highest.
How many applicants did Appalachian School of Law receive, and how many were admitted?
Appalachian School of Law received 732 completed applications and issued 446 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 60.9%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at Appalachian School of Law?
For Appalachian School of Law, in-state tuition is $41,000 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $41,800, the median grant is $10,250 per year, 87% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at Appalachian School of Law?
Appalachian School of Law had a first-time bar passage rate of 54.8% across 42 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 94.6%.