Liberty University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Liberty University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Liberty University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 628 applicants received 369 offers (58.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $24,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.3%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Lynchburg, Virginia · Report year 2025 · all Liberty University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications628
Offers of admission369
Acceptance rate58.8%
Enrollees from the applicant pool138
Enrolled in the first-year class142
First-year class size141
LSAT 25th percentile151
LSAT median154
LSAT 75th percentile158
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.36
Undergraduate GPA median3.54
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.81
Students who submitted LSAT scores141
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How Liberty University compares within Virginia

Among the 8 law schools in Virginia that report acceptance rate, Liberty University has the 2nd highest.

The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Appalachian School of Law60.9%146732
Liberty University ← this school58.8%154628
Regent University44.3%158537
University of Richmond39.6%1641,738
Washington and Lee University22.7%1672,341
William & Mary22.0%1662,176
George Mason University15.9%1692,792
University of Virginia10.2%1736,734

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$43,150
Non-resident tuition (annual)$43,150
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$2,198
Living on campus$28,768
Living off campus$26,532
Tuition guaranteeno

How Liberty University compares within Virginia

Among the 7 law schools in Virginia that report annual tuition, Liberty University has the 4th highest.

The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Virginia$74,078$28,770
University of Richmond$57,700$26,510
Washington and Lee University$57,450$21,890
Liberty University ← this school$43,150$26,532
Appalachian School of Law$41,000$41,800
William & Mary$38,734$25,184
George Mason University$24,864$38,342
Regent University—$32,268

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid100.0%
Median grant (per year)$24,000
25th percentile grant$16,000
75th percentile grant$32,000
Half tuition or less42.0%
Above half, below full58.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Liberty University compares within Virginia

Among the 8 law schools in Virginia that report median grant, Liberty University has the 5th highest.

The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
University of Richmond$40,00081.0%
University of Virginia$35,00066.0%
Washington and Lee University$33,50097.0%
William & Mary$29,30266.0%
Liberty University ← this school$24,000100.0%
Regent University$22,50097.0%
George Mason University$21,00084.0%
Appalachian School of Law$10,25087.0%

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)96
Kept the award after year one100.0%
Award reduced or eliminated0

How Liberty University compares within Virginia

Among the 1 law schools in Virginia that report retention rate, Liberty University has the highest.

The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolRetention rateEntering with award
Liberty University ← this school100.0%96
Appalachian School of Law——
George Mason University——
Regent University——
University of Richmond——
University of Virginia——
Washington and Lee University——
William & Mary——

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled940
JD students (all years)326
First-year JD students142
Non-JD students614
First-year class size141

How Liberty University compares within Virginia

Among the 8 law schools in Virginia that report jd students, Liberty University has the 7th highest.

The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
University of Virginia919309
William & Mary496184
George Mason University438159
University of Richmond407140
Washington and Lee University369131
Regent University341127
Liberty University ← this school326142
Appalachian School of Law18293

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers102
First-time passers87
First-time passage rate85.3%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)92.2%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)93.7%

How Liberty University compares within Virginia

Among the 8 law schools in Virginia that report first-time rate, Liberty University has the 7th highest.

The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
University of Virginia95.1%98.0%
Washington and Lee University93.5%95.8%
William & Mary92.8%94.0%
University of Richmond91.3%91.8%
Regent University91.3%94.8%
George Mason University86.3%92.1%
Liberty University ← this school85.3%93.7%
Appalachian School of Law54.8%94.6%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class141
White95
Black7
Hispanic15
Asian2
American Indian or Alaska Native2
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial7
Race not reported13
Men80
Women61
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Liberty University 509 report show?

Liberty University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 628 applicants received 369 offers (58.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $24,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.3%.

How does Liberty University compare with other law schools in Virginia?

Among the 8 law schools in Virginia that report acceptance rate, Liberty University has the 2nd highest.

How many applicants did Liberty University receive, and how many were admitted?

Liberty University received 628 completed applications and issued 369 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 58.8%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Liberty University?

For Liberty University, in-state tuition is $43,150 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $26,532, the median grant is $24,000 per year, 100% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Liberty University?

Liberty University had a first-time bar passage rate of 85.3% across 102 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 93.7%.