University of Virginia ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Virginia, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Virginia's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 6,734 applicants received 685 offers (10.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 173, the median grant was $35,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 95.1%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Charlottesville, Virginia · Report year 2025 · all University of Virginia data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications6,734
Offers of admission685
Acceptance rate10.2%
Enrollees from the applicant pool302
Enrolled in the first-year class309
First-year class size309
LSAT 25th percentile168
LSAT median173
LSAT 75th percentile175
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.83
Undergraduate GPA median3.99
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile4.04
Students who submitted LSAT scores305
Students who submitted GRE scores3

How University of Virginia compares within Virginia

Among the 8 law schools in Virginia that report acceptance rate, University of Virginia has the lowest.

The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Appalachian School of Law60.9%146732
Liberty University58.8%154628
Regent University44.3%158537
University of Richmond39.6%1641,738
Washington and Lee University22.7%1672,341
William & Mary22.0%1662,176
George Mason University15.9%1692,792
University of Virginia ← this school10.2%1736,734

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$74,078
Non-resident tuition (annual)$76,396
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$3,822
Living on campus$28,770
Living off campus$28,770
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of Virginia compares within Virginia

Among the 7 law schools in Virginia that report annual tuition, University of Virginia has the highest.

The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Virginia ← this school$74,078$28,770
University of Richmond$57,700$26,510
Washington and Lee University$57,450$21,890
Liberty University$43,150$26,532
Appalachian School of Law$41,000$41,800
William & Mary$38,734$25,184
George Mason University$24,864$38,342
Regent University—$32,268

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid66.0%
Median grant (per year)$35,000
25th percentile grant$25,000
75th percentile grant$50,000
Half tuition or less34.0%
Above half, below full26.0%
Full tuition6.0%
Above full tuition1.0%

How University of Virginia compares within Virginia

Among the 8 law schools in Virginia that report median grant, University of Virginia has the 2nd highest.

The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
University of Richmond$40,00081.0%
University of Virginia ← this school$35,00066.0%
Washington and Lee University$33,50097.0%
William & Mary$29,30266.0%
Liberty University$24,000100.0%
Regent University$22,50097.0%
George Mason University$21,00084.0%
Appalachian School of Law$10,25087.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled982
JD students (all years)919
First-year JD students309
Non-JD students63
First-year class size309

How University of Virginia compares within Virginia

Among the 8 law schools in Virginia that report jd students, University of Virginia has the highest.

The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
University of Virginia ← this school919309
William & Mary496184
George Mason University438159
University of Richmond407140
Washington and Lee University369131
Regent University341127
Liberty University326142
Appalachian School of Law18293

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers307
First-time passers292
First-time passage rate95.1%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)100.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)98.0%

How University of Virginia compares within Virginia

Among the 8 law schools in Virginia that report first-time rate, University of Virginia has the highest.

The 8 law schools in Virginia, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
University of Virginia ← this school95.1%98.0%
Washington and Lee University93.5%95.8%
William & Mary92.8%94.0%
University of Richmond91.3%91.8%
Regent University91.3%94.8%
George Mason University86.3%92.1%
Liberty University85.3%93.7%
Appalachian School of Law54.8%94.6%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class309
White220
Black10
Hispanic15
Asian42
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial21
Race not reported1
Men137
Women169
Another gender0
Gender not reported3

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Virginia 509 report show?

University of Virginia's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 6,734 applicants received 685 offers (10.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 173, the median grant was $35,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 95.1%.

How does University of Virginia compare with other law schools in Virginia?

Among the 8 law schools in Virginia that report acceptance rate, University of Virginia has the lowest.

How many applicants did University of Virginia receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Virginia received 6,734 completed applications and issued 685 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 10.2%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Virginia?

For University of Virginia, in-state tuition is $74,078 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $28,770, the median grant is $35,000 per year, 66% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Virginia?

University of Virginia had a first-time bar passage rate of 95.1% across 307 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 98.0%.