New England Law/Boston ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for New England Law/Boston, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

New England Law/Boston's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,997 applicants received 2,450 offers (61.3%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 153, the median grant was $40,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 73.9%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Boston, Massachusetts · Report year 2025 · all New England Law/Boston data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications3,997
Offers of admission2,450
Acceptance rate61.3%
Enrollees from the applicant pool445
Enrolled in the first-year class453
First-year class size451
LSAT 25th percentile149
LSAT median153
LSAT 75th percentile157
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.06
Undergraduate GPA median3.37
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.68
Students who submitted LSAT scores438
Students who submitted GRE scores5

How New England Law/Boston compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report acceptance rate, New England Law/Boston has the 2nd highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Suffolk University61.9%1553,481
New England Law/Boston ← this school61.3%1533,997
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth52.2%1521,311
Western New England University51.9%153871
Northeastern University24.2%1645,652
Boston University12.1%1707,892
Harvard University9.2%1748,872
Boston College8.5%1687,668

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$62,896
Non-resident tuition (annual)$62,896
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$320
Living on campusnot reported
Living off campus$48,437
Tuition guaranteeno

How New England Law/Boston compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report annual tuition, New England Law/Boston has the 5th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Harvard University$77,100$38,690
Boston College$72,380$25,726
Boston University$69,870$21,532
Northeastern University$65,652$22,900
New England Law/Boston ← this school$62,896$48,437
Suffolk University$62,610$34,706
Western New England University$50,320$20,731
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth$31,766$34,626

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid88.0%
Median grant (per year)$40,000
25th percentile grant$19,500
75th percentile grant$59,900
Half tuition or less32.0%
Above half, below full24.0%
Full tuition29.0%
Above full tuition1.0%

How New England Law/Boston compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report median grant, New England Law/Boston has the highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
New England Law/Boston ← this school$40,00088.0%
Northeastern University$31,00095.0%
Western New England University$30,00082.0%
Boston University$29,00091.0%
Harvard University$27,51038.0%
Boston College$24,00089.0%
Suffolk University$22,44581.0%
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth$15,00084.0%

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)290
Kept the award after year one74.1%
Award reduced or eliminated75

How New England Law/Boston compares within Massachusetts

Among the 1 law schools in Massachusetts that report retention rate, New England Law/Boston has the highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolRetention rateEntering with award
New England Law/Boston ← this school74.1%290
Boston College——
Boston University——
Harvard University——
Northeastern University——
Suffolk University——
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth——
Western New England University——

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,189
JD students (all years)1,189
First-year JD students453
Non-JD students0
First-year class size451

How New England Law/Boston compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report jd students, New England Law/Boston has the 3rd highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Harvard University1,784579
Suffolk University1,337549
New England Law/Boston ← this school1,189453
Northeastern University786287
Boston University691238
Boston College638219
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth389149
Western New England University324119

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers291
First-time passers215
First-time passage rate73.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)93.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)88.8%

How New England Law/Boston compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report first-time rate, New England Law/Boston has the 6th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Harvard University97.9%98.8%
Boston College96.2%98.8%
Boston University94.9%99.7%
Northeastern University90.5%96.7%
Suffolk University80.8%86.3%
New England Law/Boston ← this school73.9%88.8%
Western New England University68.0%90.1%
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth62.6%76.6%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class451
White272
Black36
Hispanic22
Asian33
American Indian or Alaska Native2
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial83
Race not reported3
Men156
Women288
Another gender3
Gender not reported4

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the New England Law/Boston 509 report show?

New England Law/Boston's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,997 applicants received 2,450 offers (61.3%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 153, the median grant was $40,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 73.9%.

How does New England Law/Boston compare with other law schools in Massachusetts?

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report acceptance rate, New England Law/Boston has the 2nd highest.

How many applicants did New England Law/Boston receive, and how many were admitted?

New England Law/Boston received 3,997 completed applications and issued 2,450 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 61.3%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at New England Law/Boston?

For New England Law/Boston, in-state tuition is $62,896 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $48,437, the median grant is $40,000 per year, 88% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at New England Law/Boston?

New England Law/Boston had a first-time bar passage rate of 73.9% across 291 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 88.8%.