Western New England University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Western New England University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Western New England University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 871 applicants received 452 offers (51.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 153, the median grant was $30,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 68.0%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Springfield, Massachusetts · Report year 2025 · all Western New England University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications871
Offers of admission452
Acceptance rate51.9%
Enrollees from the applicant pool112
Enrolled in the first-year class119
First-year class size115
LSAT 25th percentile149
LSAT median153
LSAT 75th percentile156
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile2.84
Undergraduate GPA median3.27
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.57
Students who submitted LSAT scores111
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How Western New England University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report acceptance rate, Western New England University has the 4th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Suffolk University61.9%1553,481
New England Law/Boston61.3%1533,997
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth52.2%1521,311
Western New England University ← this school51.9%153871
Northeastern University24.2%1645,652
Boston University12.1%1707,892
Harvard University9.2%1748,872
Boston College8.5%1687,668

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$50,320
Non-resident tuition (annual)$50,320
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$2,700
Living on campus$20,731
Living off campus$20,731
Tuition guaranteeno

How Western New England University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report annual tuition, Western New England University has the 7th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Harvard University$77,100$38,690
Boston College$72,380$25,726
Boston University$69,870$21,532
Northeastern University$65,652$22,900
New England Law/Boston$62,896$48,437
Suffolk University$62,610$34,706
Western New England University ← this school$50,320$20,731
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth$31,766$34,626

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid82.0%
Median grant (per year)$30,000
25th percentile grant$23,000
75th percentile grant$35,000
Half tuition or less24.0%
Above half, below full45.0%
Full tuition12.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Western New England University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report median grant, Western New England University has the 3rd highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
New England Law/Boston$40,00088.0%
Northeastern University$31,00095.0%
Western New England University ← this school$30,00082.0%
Boston University$29,00091.0%
Harvard University$27,51038.0%
Boston College$24,00089.0%
Suffolk University$22,44581.0%
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth$15,00084.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled373
JD students (all years)324
First-year JD students119
Non-JD students49
First-year class size115

How Western New England University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report jd students, Western New England University has the lowest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Harvard University1,784579
Suffolk University1,337549
New England Law/Boston1,189453
Northeastern University786287
Boston University691238
Boston College638219
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth389149
Western New England University ← this school324119

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers75
First-time passers51
First-time passage rate68.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)83.5%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)90.1%

How Western New England University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report first-time rate, Western New England University has the 7th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Harvard University97.9%98.8%
Boston College96.2%98.8%
Boston University94.9%99.7%
Northeastern University90.5%96.7%
Suffolk University80.8%86.3%
New England Law/Boston73.9%88.8%
Western New England University ← this school68.0%90.1%
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth62.6%76.6%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class115
White50
Black16
Hispanic21
Asian7
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial6
Race not reported14
Men44
Women66
Another gender0
Gender not reported5

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Western New England University 509 report show?

Western New England University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 871 applicants received 452 offers (51.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 153, the median grant was $30,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 68.0%.

How does Western New England University compare with other law schools in Massachusetts?

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report acceptance rate, Western New England University has the 4th highest.

How many applicants did Western New England University receive, and how many were admitted?

Western New England University received 871 completed applications and issued 452 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 51.9%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Western New England University?

For Western New England University, in-state tuition is $50,320 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $20,731, the median grant is $30,000 per year, 82% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Western New England University?

Western New England University had a first-time bar passage rate of 68.0% across 75 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 90.1%.