Suffolk University ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Suffolk University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
Suffolk University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,481 applicants received 2,153 offers (61.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $22,445 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 80.8%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Boston, Massachusetts · Report year 2025 · all Suffolk University data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 3,481 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 2,153 |
| Acceptance rate | 61.9% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 539 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 549 |
| First-year class size | 544 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 152 |
| LSAT median | 155 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 159 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.37 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.58 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.79 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 532 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 7 |
How Suffolk University compares within Massachusetts
Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report acceptance rate, Suffolk University has the highest.
The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Suffolk University ← this school | 61.9% | 155 | 3,481 |
| New England Law/Boston | 61.3% | 153 | 3,997 |
| University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth | 52.2% | 152 | 1,311 |
| Western New England University | 51.9% | 153 | 871 |
| Northeastern University | 24.2% | 164 | 5,652 |
| Boston University | 12.1% | 170 | 7,892 |
| Harvard University | 9.2% | 174 | 8,872 |
| Boston College | 8.5% | 168 | 7,668 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $62,610 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $62,610 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | not reported |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $1,436 |
| Living on campus | $34,706 |
| Living off campus | $34,706 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How Suffolk University compares within Massachusetts
Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report annual tuition, Suffolk University has the 6th highest.
The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| Harvard University | $77,100 | $38,690 |
| Boston College | $72,380 | $25,726 |
| Boston University | $69,870 | $21,532 |
| Northeastern University | $65,652 | $22,900 |
| New England Law/Boston | $62,896 | $48,437 |
| Suffolk University ← this school | $62,610 | $34,706 |
| Western New England University | $50,320 | $20,731 |
| University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth | $31,766 | $34,626 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 81.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $22,445 |
| 25th percentile grant | $10,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | $40,000 |
| Half tuition or less | 54.0% |
| Above half, below full | 24.0% |
| Full tuition | 2.0% |
| Above full tuition | 0.0% |
How Suffolk University compares within Massachusetts
Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report median grant, Suffolk University has the 7th highest.
The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| New England Law/Boston | $40,000 | 88.0% |
| Northeastern University | $31,000 | 95.0% |
| Western New England University | $30,000 | 82.0% |
| Boston University | $29,000 | 91.0% |
| Harvard University | $27,510 | 38.0% |
| Boston College | $24,000 | 89.0% |
| Suffolk University ← this school | $22,445 | 81.0% |
| University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth | $15,000 | 84.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 1,391 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 1,337 |
| First-year JD students | 549 |
| Non-JD students | 54 |
| First-year class size | 544 |
How Suffolk University compares within Massachusetts
Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report jd students, Suffolk University has the 2nd highest.
The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Harvard University | 1,784 | 579 |
| Suffolk University ← this school | 1,337 | 549 |
| New England Law/Boston | 1,189 | 453 |
| Northeastern University | 786 | 287 |
| Boston University | 691 | 238 |
| Boston College | 638 | 219 |
| University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth | 389 | 149 |
| Western New England University | 324 | 119 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 348 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 281 |
| First-time passage rate | 80.8% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 91.4% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 86.3% |
How Suffolk University compares within Massachusetts
Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report first-time rate, Suffolk University has the 5th highest.
The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| Harvard University | 97.9% | 98.8% |
| Boston College | 96.2% | 98.8% |
| Boston University | 94.9% | 99.7% |
| Northeastern University | 90.5% | 96.7% |
| Suffolk University ← this school | 80.8% | 86.3% |
| New England Law/Boston | 73.9% | 88.8% |
| Western New England University | 68.0% | 90.1% |
| University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth | 62.6% | 76.6% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 544 |
|---|---|
| White | 367 |
| Black | 35 |
| Hispanic | 62 |
| Asian | 50 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 2 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 1 |
| Multiracial | 1 |
| Race not reported | 26 |
| Men | 173 |
| Women | 356 |
| Another gender | 0 |
| Gender not reported | 15 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the Suffolk University 509 report show?
Suffolk University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,481 applicants received 2,153 offers (61.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $22,445 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 80.8%.
How does Suffolk University compare with other law schools in Massachusetts?
Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report acceptance rate, Suffolk University has the highest.
How many applicants did Suffolk University receive, and how many were admitted?
Suffolk University received 3,481 completed applications and issued 2,153 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 61.9%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at Suffolk University?
For Suffolk University, in-state tuition is $62,610 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $34,706, the median grant is $22,445 per year, 81% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at Suffolk University?
Suffolk University had a first-time bar passage rate of 80.8% across 348 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 86.3%.