Boston College ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Boston College, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Boston College's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 7,668 applicants received 650 offers (8.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 168, the median grant was $24,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 96.2%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Boston, Massachusetts · Report year 2025 · all Boston College data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications7,668
Offers of admission650
Acceptance rate8.5%
Enrollees from the applicant pool216
Enrolled in the first-year class219
First-year class size219
LSAT 25th percentile162
LSAT median168
LSAT 75th percentile169
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.67
Undergraduate GPA median3.83
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.9
Students who submitted LSAT scores214
Students who submitted GRE scores4

How Boston College compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report acceptance rate, Boston College has the lowest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Suffolk University61.9%1553,481
New England Law/Boston61.3%1533,997
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth52.2%1521,311
Western New England University51.9%153871
Northeastern University24.2%1645,652
Boston University12.1%1707,892
Harvard University9.2%1748,872
Boston College ← this school8.5%1687,668

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$72,380
Non-resident tuition (annual)$72,380
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$375
Living on campusnot reported
Living off campus$25,726
Tuition guaranteeno

How Boston College compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report annual tuition, Boston College has the 2nd highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Harvard University$77,100$38,690
Boston College ← this school$72,380$25,726
Boston University$69,870$21,532
Northeastern University$65,652$22,900
New England Law/Boston$62,896$48,437
Suffolk University$62,610$34,706
Western New England University$50,320$20,731
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth$31,766$34,626

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid89.0%
Median grant (per year)$24,000
25th percentile grant$20,000
75th percentile grant$28,000
Half tuition or less74.0%
Above half, below full13.0%
Full tuition1.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Boston College compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report median grant, Boston College has the 6th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
New England Law/Boston$40,00088.0%
Northeastern University$31,00095.0%
Western New England University$30,00082.0%
Boston University$29,00091.0%
Harvard University$27,51038.0%
Boston College ← this school$24,00089.0%
Suffolk University$22,44581.0%
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth$15,00084.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled638
JD students (all years)638
First-year JD students219
Non-JD students0
First-year class size219

How Boston College compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report jd students, Boston College has the 6th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Harvard University1,784579
Suffolk University1,337549
New England Law/Boston1,189453
Northeastern University786287
Boston University691238
Boston College ← this school638219
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth389149
Western New England University324119

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers210
First-time passers202
First-time passage rate96.2%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)98.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)98.8%

How Boston College compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report first-time rate, Boston College has the 2nd highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Harvard University97.9%98.8%
Boston College ← this school96.2%98.8%
Boston University94.9%99.7%
Northeastern University90.5%96.7%
Suffolk University80.8%86.3%
New England Law/Boston73.9%88.8%
Western New England University68.0%90.1%
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth62.6%76.6%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class219
White129
Black18
Hispanic3
Asian21
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial22
Race not reported26
Men107
Women112
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Boston College 509 report show?

Boston College's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 7,668 applicants received 650 offers (8.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 168, the median grant was $24,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 96.2%.

How does Boston College compare with other law schools in Massachusetts?

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report acceptance rate, Boston College has the lowest.

How many applicants did Boston College receive, and how many were admitted?

Boston College received 7,668 completed applications and issued 650 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 8.5%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Boston College?

For Boston College, in-state tuition is $72,380 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $25,726, the median grant is $24,000 per year, 89% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Boston College?

Boston College had a first-time bar passage rate of 96.2% across 210 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 98.8%.