Boston University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Boston University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Boston University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 7,892 applicants received 953 offers (12.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 170, the median grant was $29,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.9%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Boston, Massachusetts · Report year 2025 · all Boston University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications7,892
Offers of admission953
Acceptance rate12.1%
Enrollees from the applicant pool234
Enrolled in the first-year class238
First-year class size238
LSAT 25th percentile164
LSAT median170
LSAT 75th percentile171
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.71
Undergraduate GPA median3.88
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.93
Students who submitted LSAT scores238
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How Boston University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report acceptance rate, Boston University has the 6th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Suffolk University61.9%1553,481
New England Law/Boston61.3%1533,997
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth52.2%1521,311
Western New England University51.9%153871
Northeastern University24.2%1645,652
Boston University ← this school12.1%1707,892
Harvard University9.2%1748,872
Boston College8.5%1687,668

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$69,870
Non-resident tuition (annual)$69,870
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,512
Living on campus$21,532
Living off campus$21,532
Tuition guaranteeno

How Boston University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report annual tuition, Boston University has the 3rd highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Harvard University$77,100$38,690
Boston College$72,380$25,726
Boston University ← this school$69,870$21,532
Northeastern University$65,652$22,900
New England Law/Boston$62,896$48,437
Suffolk University$62,610$34,706
Western New England University$50,320$20,731
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth$31,766$34,626

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid91.0%
Median grant (per year)$29,000
25th percentile grant$20,000
75th percentile grant$43,000
Half tuition or less58.0%
Above half, below full27.0%
Full tuition6.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Boston University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report median grant, Boston University has the 4th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
New England Law/Boston$40,00088.0%
Northeastern University$31,00095.0%
Western New England University$30,00082.0%
Boston University ← this school$29,00091.0%
Harvard University$27,51038.0%
Boston College$24,00089.0%
Suffolk University$22,44581.0%
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth$15,00084.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,084
JD students (all years)691
First-year JD students238
Non-JD students393
First-year class size238

How Boston University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report jd students, Boston University has the 5th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Harvard University1,784579
Suffolk University1,337549
New England Law/Boston1,189453
Northeastern University786287
Boston University ← this school691238
Boston College638219
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth389149
Western New England University324119

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers217
First-time passers206
First-time passage rate94.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)96.3%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)99.7%

How Boston University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report first-time rate, Boston University has the 3rd highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Harvard University97.9%98.8%
Boston College96.2%98.8%
Boston University ← this school94.9%99.7%
Northeastern University90.5%96.7%
Suffolk University80.8%86.3%
New England Law/Boston73.9%88.8%
Western New England University68.0%90.1%
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth62.6%76.6%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class238
White113
Black15
Hispanic37
Asian43
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial16
Race not reported14
Men113
Women119
Another gender5
Gender not reported1

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Boston University 509 report show?

Boston University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 7,892 applicants received 953 offers (12.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 170, the median grant was $29,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.9%.

How does Boston University compare with other law schools in Massachusetts?

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report acceptance rate, Boston University has the 6th highest.

How many applicants did Boston University receive, and how many were admitted?

Boston University received 7,892 completed applications and issued 953 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 12.1%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Boston University?

For Boston University, in-state tuition is $69,870 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $21,532, the median grant is $29,000 per year, 91% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Boston University?

Boston University had a first-time bar passage rate of 94.9% across 217 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 99.7%.