Northeastern University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Northeastern University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Northeastern University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 5,652 applicants received 1,369 offers (24.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $31,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 90.5%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Boston, Massachusetts · Report year 2025 · all Northeastern University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications5,652
Offers of admission1,369
Acceptance rate24.2%
Enrollees from the applicant pool279
Enrolled in the first-year class287
First-year class size283
LSAT 25th percentile161
LSAT median164
LSAT 75th percentile166
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.61
Undergraduate GPA median3.77
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.86
Students who submitted LSAT scores282
Students who submitted GRE scores1

How Northeastern University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report acceptance rate, Northeastern University has the 5th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Suffolk University61.9%1553,481
New England Law/Boston61.3%1533,997
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth52.2%1521,311
Western New England University51.9%153871
Northeastern University ← this school24.2%1645,652
Boston University12.1%1707,892
Harvard University9.2%1748,872
Boston College8.5%1687,668

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$65,652
Non-resident tuition (annual)$65,652
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$198
Living on campus$22,900
Living off campus$22,900
Tuition guaranteeno

How Northeastern University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report annual tuition, Northeastern University has the 4th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Harvard University$77,100$38,690
Boston College$72,380$25,726
Boston University$69,870$21,532
Northeastern University ← this school$65,652$22,900
New England Law/Boston$62,896$48,437
Suffolk University$62,610$34,706
Western New England University$50,320$20,731
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth$31,766$34,626

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid95.0%
Median grant (per year)$31,000
25th percentile grant$14,666
75th percentile grant$45,000
Half tuition or less49.0%
Above half, below full34.0%
Full tuition10.0%
Above full tuition1.0%

How Northeastern University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report median grant, Northeastern University has the 2nd highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
New England Law/Boston$40,00088.0%
Northeastern University ← this school$31,00095.0%
Western New England University$30,00082.0%
Boston University$29,00091.0%
Harvard University$27,51038.0%
Boston College$24,00089.0%
Suffolk University$22,44581.0%
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth$15,00084.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,064
JD students (all years)786
First-year JD students287
Non-JD students278
First-year class size283

How Northeastern University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report jd students, Northeastern University has the 4th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Harvard University1,784579
Suffolk University1,337549
New England Law/Boston1,189453
Northeastern University ← this school786287
Boston University691238
Boston College638219
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth389149
Western New England University324119

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers211
First-time passers191
First-time passage rate90.5%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)94.1%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)96.7%

How Northeastern University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report first-time rate, Northeastern University has the 4th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Harvard University97.9%98.8%
Boston College96.2%98.8%
Boston University94.9%99.7%
Northeastern University ← this school90.5%96.7%
Suffolk University80.8%86.3%
New England Law/Boston73.9%88.8%
Western New England University68.0%90.1%
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth62.6%76.6%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class283
White169
Black25
Hispanic30
Asian32
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial12
Race not reported15
Men80
Women198
Another gender1
Gender not reported4

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Northeastern University 509 report show?

Northeastern University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 5,652 applicants received 1,369 offers (24.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $31,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 90.5%.

How does Northeastern University compare with other law schools in Massachusetts?

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report acceptance rate, Northeastern University has the 5th highest.

How many applicants did Northeastern University receive, and how many were admitted?

Northeastern University received 5,652 completed applications and issued 1,369 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 24.2%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Northeastern University?

For Northeastern University, in-state tuition is $65,652 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $22,900, the median grant is $31,000 per year, 95% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Northeastern University?

Northeastern University had a first-time bar passage rate of 90.5% across 211 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 96.7%.