Harvard University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Harvard University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Harvard University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 8,872 applicants received 816 offers (9.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 174, the median grant was $27,510 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 97.9%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Cambridge, Massachusetts · Report year 2025 · all Harvard University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications8,872
Offers of admission816
Acceptance rate9.2%
Enrollees from the applicant pool483
Enrolled in the first-year class579
First-year class size579
LSAT 25th percentile171
LSAT median174
LSAT 75th percentile176
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.89
Undergraduate GPA median3.96
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile4
Students who submitted LSAT scores542
Students who submitted GRE scores37

How Harvard University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report acceptance rate, Harvard University has the 7th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Suffolk University61.9%1553,481
New England Law/Boston61.3%1533,997
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth52.2%1521,311
Western New England University51.9%153871
Northeastern University24.2%1645,652
Boston University12.1%1707,892
Harvard University ← this school9.2%1748,872
Boston College8.5%1687,668

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$77,100
Non-resident tuition (annual)$77,100
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,592
Living on campus$38,690
Living off campus$38,690
Tuition guaranteeno

How Harvard University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report annual tuition, Harvard University has the highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Harvard University ← this school$77,100$38,690
Boston College$72,380$25,726
Boston University$69,870$21,532
Northeastern University$65,652$22,900
New England Law/Boston$62,896$48,437
Suffolk University$62,610$34,706
Western New England University$50,320$20,731
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth$31,766$34,626

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid38.0%
Median grant (per year)$27,510
25th percentile grant$12,106
75th percentile grant$43,338
Half tuition or less26.0%
Above half, below full11.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

How Harvard University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report median grant, Harvard University has the 5th highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
New England Law/Boston$40,00088.0%
Northeastern University$31,00095.0%
Western New England University$30,00082.0%
Boston University$29,00091.0%
Harvard University ← this school$27,51038.0%
Boston College$24,00089.0%
Suffolk University$22,44581.0%
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth$15,00084.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled2,025
JD students (all years)1,784
First-year JD students579
Non-JD students241
First-year class size579

How Harvard University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report jd students, Harvard University has the highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Harvard University ← this school1,784579
Suffolk University1,337549
New England Law/Boston1,189453
Northeastern University786287
Boston University691238
Boston College638219
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth389149
Western New England University324119

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers620
First-time passers607
First-time passage rate97.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)98.7%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)98.8%

How Harvard University compares within Massachusetts

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report first-time rate, Harvard University has the highest.

The 8 law schools in Massachusetts, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Harvard University ← this school97.9%98.8%
Boston College96.2%98.8%
Boston University94.9%99.7%
Northeastern University90.5%96.7%
Suffolk University80.8%86.3%
New England Law/Boston73.9%88.8%
Western New England University68.0%90.1%
University of Massachusetts/Dartmouth62.6%76.6%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class579
White283
Black55
Hispanic47
Asian125
American Indian or Alaska Native3
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial30
Race not reported36
Men262
Women310
Another gender4
Gender not reported3

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Harvard University 509 report show?

Harvard University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 8,872 applicants received 816 offers (9.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 174, the median grant was $27,510 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 97.9%.

How does Harvard University compare with other law schools in Massachusetts?

Among the 8 law schools in Massachusetts that report acceptance rate, Harvard University has the 7th highest.

How many applicants did Harvard University receive, and how many were admitted?

Harvard University received 8,872 completed applications and issued 816 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 9.2%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Harvard University?

For Harvard University, in-state tuition is $77,100 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $38,690, the median grant is $27,510 per year, 38% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Harvard University?

Harvard University had a first-time bar passage rate of 97.9% across 620 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 98.8%.