Willamette University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Willamette University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Willamette University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 858 applicants received 527 offers (61.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $20,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 64.6%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Salem, Oregon · Report year 2025 · all Willamette University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications858
Offers of admission527
Acceptance rate61.4%
Enrollees from the applicant pool139
Enrolled in the first-year class142
First-year class size139
LSAT 25th percentile151
LSAT median154
LSAT 75th percentile157
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.22
Undergraduate GPA median3.48
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.7
Students who submitted LSAT scores134
Students who submitted GRE scores5

How Willamette University compares within Oregon

Among the 3 law schools in Oregon that report acceptance rate, Willamette University has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Oregon, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Willamette University ← this school61.4%154858
University of Oregon55.0%1601,850
Lewis & Clark Law School54.7%1611,133

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$56,600
Non-resident tuition (annual)$56,600
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$80
Living on campusnot reported
Living off campus$22,828
Tuition guaranteeno

How Willamette University compares within Oregon

Among the 3 law schools in Oregon that report annual tuition, Willamette University has the 2nd highest.

The 3 law schools in Oregon, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Lewis & Clark Law School$61,434$28,370
Willamette University ← this school$56,600$22,828
University of Oregon$47,240$22,020

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid94.0%
Median grant (per year)$20,000
25th percentile grant$10,000
75th percentile grant$30,000
Half tuition or less66.0%
Above half, below full24.0%
Full tuition1.0%
Above full tuition3.0%

How Willamette University compares within Oregon

Among the 3 law schools in Oregon that report median grant, Willamette University has the lowest.

The 3 law schools in Oregon, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Lewis & Clark Law School$26,00095.0%
University of Oregon$25,00074.0%
Willamette University ← this school$20,00094.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled367
JD students (all years)365
First-year JD students142
Non-JD students2
First-year class size139

How Willamette University compares within Oregon

Among the 3 law schools in Oregon that report jd students, Willamette University has the lowest.

The 3 law schools in Oregon, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Lewis & Clark Law School519176
University of Oregon481186
Willamette University ← this school365142

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers96
First-time passers62
First-time passage rate64.6%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)83.2%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)81.3%

How Willamette University compares within Oregon

Among the 3 law schools in Oregon that report first-time rate, Willamette University has the lowest.

The 3 law schools in Oregon, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Lewis & Clark Law School86.7%90.1%
University of Oregon79.2%94.1%
Willamette University ← this school64.6%81.3%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class139
White79
Black4
Hispanic24
Asian6
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial11
Race not reported15
Men66
Women67
Another gender4
Gender not reported2

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Willamette University 509 report show?

Willamette University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 858 applicants received 527 offers (61.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $20,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 64.6%.

How does Willamette University compare with other law schools in Oregon?

Among the 3 law schools in Oregon that report acceptance rate, Willamette University has the highest.

How many applicants did Willamette University receive, and how many were admitted?

Willamette University received 858 completed applications and issued 527 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 61.4%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Willamette University?

For Willamette University, in-state tuition is $56,600 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $22,828, the median grant is $20,000 per year, 94% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Willamette University?

Willamette University had a first-time bar passage rate of 64.6% across 96 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 81.3%.