University of Detroit Mercy ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Detroit Mercy, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
University of Detroit Mercy's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,478 applicants received 612 offers (41.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 156, the median grant was $18,636 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 71.5%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Detroit, Michigan · Report year 2025 · all University of Detroit Mercy data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 1,478 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 612 |
| Acceptance rate | 41.4% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 246 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 247 |
| First-year class size | 247 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 154 |
| LSAT median | 156 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 159 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.16 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.52 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.73 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 247 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 0 |
How University of Detroit Mercy compares within Michigan
Among the 5 law schools in Michigan that report acceptance rate, University of Detroit Mercy has the 2nd highest.
The 5 law schools in Michigan, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cooley Law School | 52.9% | 147 | 1,323 |
| University of Detroit Mercy ← this school | 41.4% | 156 | 1,478 |
| Michigan State University | 26.0% | 162 | 1,526 |
| Wayne State University | 24.8% | 164 | 1,290 |
| University of Michigan | 8.6% | 171 | 8,982 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | not reported |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | not reported |
| Tuition reporting basis | per credit hour |
| Per credit hour | $1,616 |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | not reported |
| Living on campus | not reported |
| Living off campus | $23,983 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How University of Detroit Mercy compares within Michigan
University of Detroit Mercy does not report annual tuition, so it cannot be placed among the 5 law schools in this state.
The 5 law schools in Michigan, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| University of Michigan | $76,108 | $26,886 |
| Michigan State University | $43,480 | $27,152 |
| Wayne State University | $38,861 | $25,132 |
| Cooley Law School | — | $29,972 |
| University of Detroit Mercy ← this school | — | $23,983 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 58.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $18,636 |
| 25th percentile grant | $10,504 |
| 75th percentile grant | $32,614 |
| Half tuition or less | 28.0% |
| Above half, below full | 29.0% |
| Full tuition | 0.0% |
| Above full tuition | 1.0% |
How University of Detroit Mercy compares within Michigan
Among the 5 law schools in Michigan that report median grant, University of Detroit Mercy has the 4th highest.
The 5 law schools in Michigan, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| Michigan State University | $42,682 | 100.0% |
| Wayne State University | $34,636 | 83.0% |
| University of Michigan | $32,000 | 91.0% |
| University of Detroit Mercy ← this school | $18,636 | 58.0% |
| Cooley Law School | $13,746 | 57.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 664 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 664 |
| First-year JD students | 247 |
| Non-JD students | 0 |
| First-year class size | 247 |
How University of Detroit Mercy compares within Michigan
Among the 5 law schools in Michigan that report jd students, University of Detroit Mercy has the 2nd highest.
The 5 law schools in Michigan, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| University of Michigan | 991 | 344 |
| University of Detroit Mercy ← this school | 664 | 247 |
| Michigan State University | 500 | 153 |
| Cooley Law School | 476 | 252 |
| Wayne State University | 394 | 130 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 144 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 103 |
| First-time passage rate | 71.5% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 76.9% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 83.5% |
How University of Detroit Mercy compares within Michigan
Among the 5 law schools in Michigan that report first-time rate, University of Detroit Mercy has the 4th highest.
The 5 law schools in Michigan, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| University of Michigan | 94.2% | 98.7% |
| Michigan State University | 77.3% | 87.3% |
| Wayne State University | 73.8% | 91.1% |
| University of Detroit Mercy ← this school | 71.5% | 83.5% |
| Cooley Law School | 51.5% | 76.7% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 247 |
|---|---|
| White | 127 |
| Black | 24 |
| Hispanic | 10 |
| Asian | 25 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 9 |
| Race not reported | 52 |
| Men | 111 |
| Women | 133 |
| Another gender | 2 |
| Gender not reported | 1 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the University of Detroit Mercy 509 report show?
University of Detroit Mercy's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,478 applicants received 612 offers (41.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 156, the median grant was $18,636 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 71.5%.
How does University of Detroit Mercy compare with other law schools in Michigan?
Among the 5 law schools in Michigan that report acceptance rate, University of Detroit Mercy has the 2nd highest.
How many applicants did University of Detroit Mercy receive, and how many were admitted?
University of Detroit Mercy received 1,478 completed applications and issued 612 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 41.4%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Detroit Mercy?
For University of Detroit Mercy, tuition is reported per credit hour at $1,616, off-campus living costs are estimated at $23,983, the median grant is $18,636 per year, 58% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at University of Detroit Mercy?
University of Detroit Mercy had a first-time bar passage rate of 71.5% across 144 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 83.5%.