University of Michigan ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Michigan, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Michigan's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 8,982 applicants received 770 offers (8.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 171, the median grant was $32,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.2%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Ann Arbor, Michigan · Report year 2025 · all University of Michigan data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications8,982
Offers of admission770
Acceptance rate8.6%
Enrollees from the applicant pool329
Enrolled in the first-year class344
First-year class size343
LSAT 25th percentile168
LSAT median171
LSAT 75th percentile173
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.74
Undergraduate GPA median3.88
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.95
Students who submitted LSAT scores343
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How University of Michigan compares within Michigan

Among the 5 law schools in Michigan that report acceptance rate, University of Michigan has the lowest.

The 5 law schools in Michigan, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Cooley Law School52.9%1471,323
University of Detroit Mercy41.4%1561,478
Michigan State University26.0%1621,526
Wayne State University24.8%1641,290
University of Michigan ← this school8.6%1718,982

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$76,108
Non-resident tuition (annual)$79,108
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$572
Living on campus$26,886
Living off campus$26,886
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of Michigan compares within Michigan

Among the 3 law schools in Michigan that report annual tuition, University of Michigan has the highest.

The 5 law schools in Michigan, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Michigan ← this school$76,108$26,886
Michigan State University$43,480$27,152
Wayne State University$38,861$25,132
Cooley Law School—$29,972
University of Detroit Mercy—$23,983

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid91.0%
Median grant (per year)$32,000
25th percentile grant$20,000
75th percentile grant$41,000
Half tuition or less58.0%
Above half, below full30.0%
Full tuition1.0%
Above full tuition2.0%

How University of Michigan compares within Michigan

Among the 5 law schools in Michigan that report median grant, University of Michigan has the 3rd highest.

The 5 law schools in Michigan, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Michigan State University$42,682100.0%
Wayne State University$34,63683.0%
University of Michigan ← this school$32,00091.0%
University of Detroit Mercy$18,63658.0%
Cooley Law School$13,74657.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,032
JD students (all years)991
First-year JD students344
Non-JD students41
First-year class size343

How University of Michigan compares within Michigan

Among the 5 law schools in Michigan that report jd students, University of Michigan has the highest.

The 5 law schools in Michigan, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
University of Michigan ← this school991344
University of Detroit Mercy664247
Michigan State University500153
Cooley Law School476252
Wayne State University394130

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers342
First-time passers322
First-time passage rate94.2%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)99.3%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)98.7%

How University of Michigan compares within Michigan

Among the 5 law schools in Michigan that report first-time rate, University of Michigan has the highest.

The 5 law schools in Michigan, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
University of Michigan ← this school94.2%98.7%
Michigan State University77.3%87.3%
Wayne State University73.8%91.1%
University of Detroit Mercy71.5%83.5%
Cooley Law School51.5%76.7%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class343
White203
Black19
Hispanic30
Asian51
American Indian or Alaska Native2
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial35
Race not reported3
Men164
Women173
Another gender6
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Michigan 509 report show?

University of Michigan's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 8,982 applicants received 770 offers (8.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 171, the median grant was $32,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.2%.

How does University of Michigan compare with other law schools in Michigan?

Among the 5 law schools in Michigan that report acceptance rate, University of Michigan has the lowest.

How many applicants did University of Michigan receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Michigan received 8,982 completed applications and issued 770 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 8.6%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Michigan?

For University of Michigan, in-state tuition is $76,108 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $26,886, the median grant is $32,000 per year, 91% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Michigan?

University of Michigan had a first-time bar passage rate of 94.2% across 342 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 98.7%.