Mercer University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Mercer University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Mercer University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,184 applicants received 447 offers (37.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 157, the median grant was $20,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 86.5%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Macon, Georgia · Report year 2025 · all Mercer University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications1,184
Offers of admission447
Acceptance rate37.8%
Enrollees from the applicant pool152
Enrolled in the first-year class156
First-year class size152
LSAT 25th percentile155
LSAT median157
LSAT 75th percentile160
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.3
Undergraduate GPA median3.62
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.8
Students who submitted LSAT scores150
Students who submitted GRE scores2

How Mercer University compares within Georgia

Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report acceptance rate, Mercer University has the highest.

The 5 law schools in Georgia, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Mercer University ← this school37.8%1571,184
Atlanta's John Marshall Law School32.6%1521,274
Georgia State University30.6%1602,450
Emory University30.1%1663,931
University of Georgia12.7%1694,695

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$44,782
Non-resident tuition (annual)$44,782
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$300
Living on campus$23,289
Living off campus$23,289
Tuition guaranteeno

How Mercer University compares within Georgia

Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report annual tuition, Mercer University has the 3rd highest.

The 5 law schools in Georgia, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Emory University$69,510$38,990
Atlanta's John Marshall Law School$52,536$35,426
Mercer University ← this school$44,782$23,289
University of Georgia$18,044$25,978
Georgia State University$16,162$26,693

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid87.0%
Median grant (per year)$20,000
25th percentile grant$10,000
75th percentile grant$29,000
Half tuition or less50.0%
Above half, below full34.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition3.0%

How Mercer University compares within Georgia

Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report median grant, Mercer University has the 2nd highest.

The 5 law schools in Georgia, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Emory University$36,00098.0%
Mercer University ← this school$20,00087.0%
University of Georgia$19,46084.0%
Georgia State University$7,77649.0%
Atlanta's John Marshall Law School$4,50084.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled425
JD students (all years)425
First-year JD students156
Non-JD students0
First-year class size152

How Mercer University compares within Georgia

Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report jd students, Mercer University has the 4th highest.

The 5 law schools in Georgia, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Emory University913392
Georgia State University682244
University of Georgia542187
Mercer University ← this school425156
Atlanta's John Marshall Law School379140

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers141
First-time passers122
First-time passage rate86.5%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)90.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)89.2%

How Mercer University compares within Georgia

Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report first-time rate, Mercer University has the 3rd highest.

The 5 law schools in Georgia, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
University of Georgia88.4%95.6%
Georgia State University87.4%94.0%
Mercer University ← this school86.5%89.2%
Emory University86.3%96.8%
Atlanta's John Marshall Law School63.8%81.0%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class152
White117
Black9
Hispanic8
Asian11
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial3
Race not reported4
Men79
Women73
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Mercer University 509 report show?

Mercer University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,184 applicants received 447 offers (37.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 157, the median grant was $20,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 86.5%.

How does Mercer University compare with other law schools in Georgia?

Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report acceptance rate, Mercer University has the highest.

How many applicants did Mercer University receive, and how many were admitted?

Mercer University received 1,184 completed applications and issued 447 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 37.8%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Mercer University?

For Mercer University, in-state tuition is $44,782 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $23,289, the median grant is $20,000 per year, 87% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Mercer University?

Mercer University had a first-time bar passage rate of 86.5% across 141 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 89.2%.