University of Georgia ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Georgia, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Georgia's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,695 applicants received 597 offers (12.7%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 169, the median grant was $19,460 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 88.4%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Athens, Georgia · Report year 2025 · all University of Georgia data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications4,695
Offers of admission597
Acceptance rate12.7%
Enrollees from the applicant pool186
Enrolled in the first-year class187
First-year class size186
LSAT 25th percentile159
LSAT median169
LSAT 75th percentile171
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.7
Undergraduate GPA median3.92
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.97
Students who submitted LSAT scores168
Students who submitted GRE scores1

How University of Georgia compares within Georgia

Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report acceptance rate, University of Georgia has the lowest.

The 5 law schools in Georgia, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Mercer University37.8%1571,184
Atlanta's John Marshall Law School32.6%1521,274
Georgia State University30.6%1602,450
Emory University30.1%1663,931
University of Georgia ← this school12.7%1694,695

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$18,044
Non-resident tuition (annual)$38,944
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,458
Living on campus$19,038
Living off campus$25,978
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of Georgia compares within Georgia

Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report annual tuition, University of Georgia has the 4th highest.

The 5 law schools in Georgia, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Emory University$69,510$38,990
Atlanta's John Marshall Law School$52,536$35,426
Mercer University$44,782$23,289
University of Georgia ← this school$18,044$25,978
Georgia State University$16,162$26,693

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid84.0%
Median grant (per year)$19,460
25th percentile grant$5,200
75th percentile grant$22,059
Half tuition or less29.0%
Above half, below full13.0%
Full tuition20.0%
Above full tuition22.0%

How University of Georgia compares within Georgia

Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report median grant, University of Georgia has the 3rd highest.

The 5 law schools in Georgia, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Emory University$36,00098.0%
Mercer University$20,00087.0%
University of Georgia ← this school$19,46084.0%
Georgia State University$7,77649.0%
Atlanta's John Marshall Law School$4,50084.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled1,000
JD students (all years)542
First-year JD students187
Non-JD students458
First-year class size186

How University of Georgia compares within Georgia

Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report jd students, University of Georgia has the 3rd highest.

The 5 law schools in Georgia, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Emory University913392
Georgia State University682244
University of Georgia ← this school542187
Mercer University425156
Atlanta's John Marshall Law School379140

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers172
First-time passers152
First-time passage rate88.4%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)97.6%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)95.6%

How University of Georgia compares within Georgia

Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report first-time rate, University of Georgia has the highest.

The 5 law schools in Georgia, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
University of Georgia ← this school88.4%95.6%
Georgia State University87.4%94.0%
Mercer University86.5%89.2%
Emory University86.3%96.8%
Atlanta's John Marshall Law School63.8%81.0%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class186
White102
Black17
Hispanic10
Asian14
American Indian or Alaska Native2
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial0
Race not reported41
Men81
Women104
Another gender0
Gender not reported1

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Georgia 509 report show?

University of Georgia's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 4,695 applicants received 597 offers (12.7%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 169, the median grant was $19,460 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 88.4%.

How does University of Georgia compare with other law schools in Georgia?

Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report acceptance rate, University of Georgia has the lowest.

How many applicants did University of Georgia receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Georgia received 4,695 completed applications and issued 597 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 12.7%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Georgia?

For University of Georgia, in-state tuition is $18,044 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $25,978, the median grant is $19,460 per year, 84% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Georgia?

University of Georgia had a first-time bar passage rate of 88.4% across 172 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 95.6%.