Emory University ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Emory University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
Emory University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,931 applicants received 1,183 offers (30.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 166, the median grant was $36,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 86.3%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Atlanta, Georgia · Report year 2025 · all Emory University data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 3,931 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 1,183 |
| Acceptance rate | 30.1% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 389 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 392 |
| First-year class size | 391 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 162 |
| LSAT median | 166 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 168 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.68 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.82 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.87 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 383 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 8 |
How Emory University compares within Georgia
Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report acceptance rate, Emory University has the 4th highest.
The 5 law schools in Georgia, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mercer University | 37.8% | 157 | 1,184 |
| Atlanta's John Marshall Law School | 32.6% | 152 | 1,274 |
| Georgia State University | 30.6% | 160 | 2,450 |
| Emory University ← this school | 30.1% | 166 | 3,931 |
| University of Georgia | 12.7% | 169 | 4,695 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $69,510 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $69,510 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | $2,896 |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $962 |
| Living on campus | $38,990 |
| Living off campus | $38,990 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How Emory University compares within Georgia
Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report annual tuition, Emory University has the highest.
The 5 law schools in Georgia, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| Emory University ← this school | $69,510 | $38,990 |
| Atlanta's John Marshall Law School | $52,536 | $35,426 |
| Mercer University | $44,782 | $23,289 |
| University of Georgia | $18,044 | $25,978 |
| Georgia State University | $16,162 | $26,693 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 98.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $36,000 |
| 25th percentile grant | $28,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | $45,000 |
| Half tuition or less | 45.0% |
| Above half, below full | 52.0% |
| Full tuition | 0.0% |
| Above full tuition | 1.0% |
How Emory University compares within Georgia
Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report median grant, Emory University has the highest.
The 5 law schools in Georgia, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| Emory University ← this school | $36,000 | 98.0% |
| Mercer University | $20,000 | 87.0% |
| University of Georgia | $19,460 | 84.0% |
| Georgia State University | $7,776 | 49.0% |
| Atlanta's John Marshall Law School | $4,500 | 84.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 1,025 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 913 |
| First-year JD students | 392 |
| Non-JD students | 112 |
| First-year class size | 391 |
How Emory University compares within Georgia
Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report jd students, Emory University has the highest.
The 5 law schools in Georgia, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Emory University ← this school | 913 | 392 |
| Georgia State University | 682 | 244 |
| University of Georgia | 542 | 187 |
| Mercer University | 425 | 156 |
| Atlanta's John Marshall Law School | 379 | 140 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 227 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 196 |
| First-time passage rate | 86.3% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 96.1% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 96.8% |
How Emory University compares within Georgia
Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report first-time rate, Emory University has the 4th highest.
The 5 law schools in Georgia, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| University of Georgia | 88.4% | 95.6% |
| Georgia State University | 87.4% | 94.0% |
| Mercer University | 86.5% | 89.2% |
| Emory University ← this school | 86.3% | 96.8% |
| Atlanta's John Marshall Law School | 63.8% | 81.0% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 391 |
|---|---|
| White | 223 |
| Black | 16 |
| Hispanic | 34 |
| Asian | 85 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 1 |
| Multiracial | 13 |
| Race not reported | 19 |
| Men | 168 |
| Women | 211 |
| Another gender | 10 |
| Gender not reported | 2 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the Emory University 509 report show?
Emory University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,931 applicants received 1,183 offers (30.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 166, the median grant was $36,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 86.3%.
How does Emory University compare with other law schools in Georgia?
Among the 5 law schools in Georgia that report acceptance rate, Emory University has the 4th highest.
How many applicants did Emory University receive, and how many were admitted?
Emory University received 3,931 completed applications and issued 1,183 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 30.1%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at Emory University?
For Emory University, in-state tuition is $69,510 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $38,990, the median grant is $36,000 per year, 98% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at Emory University?
Emory University had a first-time bar passage rate of 86.3% across 227 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 96.8%.