Charleston School of Law ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Charleston School of Law, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Charleston School of Law's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,215 applicants received 1,112 offers (50.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $20,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 77.4%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Charleston, South Carolina · Report year 2025 · all Charleston School of Law data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,215
Offers of admission1,112
Acceptance rate50.2%
Enrollees from the applicant pool237
Enrolled in the first-year class241
First-year class size241
LSAT 25th percentile152
LSAT median154
LSAT 75th percentile157
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.26
Undergraduate GPA median3.51
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.75
Students who submitted LSAT scores235
Students who submitted GRE scores1

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$48,600
Non-resident tuition (annual)$48,600
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,084
Living on campusnot reported
Living off campus$27,752
Tuition guaranteeno

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid95.0%
Median grant (per year)$20,000
25th percentile grant$13,000
75th percentile grant$28,500
Half tuition or less58.0%
Above half, below full34.0%
Full tuition3.0%
Above full tuition0.0%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled710
JD students (all years)707
First-year JD students241
Non-JD students3
First-year class size241

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers221
First-time passers171
First-time passage rate77.4%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)89.5%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)90.3%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class241
White200
Black8
Hispanic17
Asian3
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial9
Race not reported4
Men90
Women151
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Charleston School of Law 509 report show?

Charleston School of Law's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,215 applicants received 1,112 offers (50.2%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 154, the median grant was $20,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 77.4%.

How many applicants did Charleston School of Law receive, and how many were admitted?

Charleston School of Law received 2,215 completed applications and issued 1,112 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 50.2%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Charleston School of Law?

For Charleston School of Law, in-state tuition is $48,600 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $27,752, the median grant is $20,000 per year, 95% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Charleston School of Law?

Charleston School of Law had a first-time bar passage rate of 77.4% across 221 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 90.3%.