University of Iowa ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Iowa, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Iowa's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,251 applicants received 554 offers (44.3%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $30,043 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 91.4%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Iowa City, Iowa · Report year 2025 · all University of Iowa data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications1,251
Offers of admission554
Acceptance rate44.3%
Enrollees from the applicant pool156
Enrolled in the first-year class159
First-year class size159
LSAT 25th percentile161
LSAT median164
LSAT 75th percentile165
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.62
Undergraduate GPA median3.78
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.92
Students who submitted LSAT scores156
Students who submitted GRE scores0

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$30,944
Non-resident tuition (annual)$52,191
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$2,545
Living on campus$23,920
Living off campus$23,920
Tuition guaranteeno

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid77.0%
Median grant (per year)$30,043
25th percentile grant$24,000
75th percentile grant$34,527
Half tuition or less17.0%
Above half, below full31.0%
Full tuition22.0%
Above full tuition7.0%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled599
JD students (all years)500
First-year JD students159
Non-JD students99
First-year class size159

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers151
First-time passers138
First-time passage rate91.4%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)91.5%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)92.4%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class159
White123
Black4
Hispanic8
Asian3
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander1
Multiracial6
Race not reported14
Men79
Women69
Another gender1
Gender not reported10

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Iowa 509 report show?

University of Iowa's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,251 applicants received 554 offers (44.3%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $30,043 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 91.4%.

How many applicants did University of Iowa receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Iowa received 1,251 completed applications and issued 554 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 44.3%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Iowa?

For University of Iowa, in-state tuition is $30,944 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $23,920, the median grant is $30,043 per year, 77% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Iowa?

University of Iowa had a first-time bar passage rate of 91.4% across 151 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 92.4%.