University of Montana ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Montana, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Montana's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 568 applicants received 292 offers (51.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 156, the median grant was $10,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 82.5%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Missoula, Montana · Report year 2025 · all University of Montana data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications568
Offers of admission292
Acceptance rate51.4%
Enrollees from the applicant pool95
Enrolled in the first-year class95
First-year class size95
LSAT 25th percentile153
LSAT median156
LSAT 75th percentile159
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.33
Undergraduate GPA median3.64
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.8
Students who submitted LSAT scores91
Students who submitted GRE scores3

University of Montana is the only law school in this state, so there is nothing to compare it with.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$24,582
Non-resident tuition (annual)$51,582
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$2,930
Living on campus$35,371
Living off campus$35,371
Tuition guaranteeno

University of Montana is the only law school in this state, so there is nothing to compare it with.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid89.0%
Median grant (per year)$10,000
25th percentile grant$6,630
75th percentile grant$15,585
Half tuition or less71.0%
Above half, below full9.0%
Full tuition3.0%
Above full tuition6.0%

University of Montana is the only law school in this state, so there is nothing to compare it with.

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)64
Kept the award after year one100.0%
Award reduced or eliminated0

University of Montana is the only law school in this state, so there is nothing to compare it with.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled396
JD students (all years)280
First-year JD students95
Non-JD students116
First-year class size95

University of Montana is the only law school in this state, so there is nothing to compare it with.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers80
First-time passers66
First-time passage rate82.5%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)94.7%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)93.5%

University of Montana is the only law school in this state, so there is nothing to compare it with.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class95
White83
Black0
Hispanic3
Asian2
American Indian or Alaska Native3
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial0
Race not reported4
Men42
Women53
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Montana 509 report show?

University of Montana's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 568 applicants received 292 offers (51.4%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 156, the median grant was $10,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 82.5%.

How many applicants did University of Montana receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Montana received 568 completed applications and issued 292 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 51.4%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Montana?

For University of Montana, in-state tuition is $24,582 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $35,371, the median grant is $10,000 per year, 89% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Montana?

University of Montana had a first-time bar passage rate of 82.5% across 80 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 93.5%.