University of Wisconsin ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Wisconsin, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Wisconsin's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,479 applicants received 474 offers (19.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 167, the median grant was $35,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 75.0%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Madison, Wisconsin · Report year 2025 · all University of Wisconsin data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,479
Offers of admission474
Acceptance rate19.1%
Enrollees from the applicant pool220
Enrolled in the first-year class230
First-year class size224
LSAT 25th percentile161
LSAT median167
LSAT 75th percentile169
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.61
Undergraduate GPA median3.81
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.93
Students who submitted LSAT scores224
Students who submitted GRE scores0

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$36,526
Non-resident tuition (annual)$53,640
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,660
Living on campus$25,056
Living off campus$25,056
Tuition guaranteeno

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid94.0%
Median grant (per year)$35,000
25th percentile grant$15,000
75th percentile grant$52,332
Half tuition or less38.0%
Above half, below full37.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition19.0%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled690
JD students (all years)642
First-year JD students230
Non-JD students48
First-year class size224

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers8
First-time passers6
First-time passage rate75.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)100.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)83.3%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class224
White169
Black3
Hispanic14
Asian20
American Indian or Alaska Native2
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial11
Race not reported5
Men105
Women119
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Wisconsin 509 report show?

University of Wisconsin's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,479 applicants received 474 offers (19.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 167, the median grant was $35,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 75.0%.

How many applicants did University of Wisconsin receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Wisconsin received 2,479 completed applications and issued 474 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 19.1%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Wisconsin?

For University of Wisconsin, in-state tuition is $36,526 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $25,056, the median grant is $35,000 per year, 94% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Wisconsin?

University of Wisconsin had a first-time bar passage rate of 75.0% across 8 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 83.3%.