The University of Kansas ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for The University of Kansas, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

The University of Kansas's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,172 applicants received 458 offers (39.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 162, the median grant was $15,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.2%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Lawrence, Kansas · Report year 2025 · all The University of Kansas data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications1,172
Offers of admission458
Acceptance rate39.1%
Enrollees from the applicant pool115
Enrolled in the first-year class122
First-year class size122
LSAT 25th percentile158
LSAT median162
LSAT 75th percentile164
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.58
Undergraduate GPA median3.85
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.95
Students who submitted LSAT scores122
Students who submitted GRE scores0

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)not reported
Non-resident tuition (annual)not reported
Tuition reporting basisper credit hour
Per credit hour$857
Mandatory fees (full-time)not reported
Living on campus$20,238
Living off campus$20,238
Tuition guaranteeno

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid85.0%
Median grant (per year)$15,000
25th percentile grant$5,375
75th percentile grant$24,700
Half tuition or less47.0%
Above half, below full17.0%
Full tuition14.0%
Above full tuition7.0%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)34
Kept the award after year one82.4%
Award reduced or eliminated6

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled385
JD students (all years)356
First-year JD students122
Non-JD students29
First-year class size122

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers121
First-time passers114
First-time passage rate94.2%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)98.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)96.4%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class122
White98
Black0
Hispanic9
Asian4
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander1
Multiracial6
Race not reported4
Men46
Women75
Another gender0
Gender not reported1

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the The University of Kansas 509 report show?

The University of Kansas's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,172 applicants received 458 offers (39.1%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 162, the median grant was $15,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.2%.

How many applicants did The University of Kansas receive, and how many were admitted?

The University of Kansas received 1,172 completed applications and issued 458 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 39.1%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at The University of Kansas?

For The University of Kansas, tuition is reported per credit hour at $857, off-campus living costs are estimated at $20,238, the median grant is $15,000 per year, 85% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at The University of Kansas?

The University of Kansas had a first-time bar passage rate of 94.2% across 121 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 96.4%.