Drake University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Drake University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Drake University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 788 applicants received 432 offers (54.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 156, the median grant was $31,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 77.2%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Des Moines, Iowa · Report year 2025 · all Drake University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications788
Offers of admission432
Acceptance rate54.8%
Enrollees from the applicant pool141
Enrolled in the first-year class143
First-year class size141
LSAT 25th percentile153
LSAT median156
LSAT 75th percentile159
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.38
Undergraduate GPA median3.67
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.89
Students who submitted LSAT scores141
Students who submitted GRE scores0

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$50,920
Non-resident tuition (annual)$50,920
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$470
Living on campus$20,328
Living off campus$20,923
Tuition guaranteeno

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid82.0%
Median grant (per year)$31,000
25th percentile grant$24,000
75th percentile grant$37,080
Half tuition or less22.0%
Above half, below full51.0%
Full tuition6.0%
Above full tuition3.0%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled421
JD students (all years)369
First-year JD students143
Non-JD students52
First-year class size141

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers114
First-time passers88
First-time passage rate77.2%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)98.1%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)85.3%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class141
White119
Black8
Hispanic10
Asian3
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial1
Race not reported0
Men62
Women77
Another gender1
Gender not reported1

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Drake University 509 report show?

Drake University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 788 applicants received 432 offers (54.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 156, the median grant was $31,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 77.2%.

How many applicants did Drake University receive, and how many were admitted?

Drake University received 788 completed applications and issued 432 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 54.8%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Drake University?

For Drake University, in-state tuition is $50,920 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $20,923, the median grant is $31,000 per year, 82% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Drake University?

Drake University had a first-time bar passage rate of 77.2% across 114 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 85.3%.