Washington University (St. Louis) ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Washington University (St. Louis), laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
Washington University (St. Louis)'s 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 5,616 applicants received 1,065 offers (19.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 175, the median grant was $48,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 89.6%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
St. Louis, Missouri · Report year 2025 · all Washington University (St. Louis) data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 5,616 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 1,065 |
| Acceptance rate | 19.0% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 258 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 264 |
| First-year class size | 261 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 165 |
| LSAT median | 175 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 176 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.58 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.96 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 4 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 249 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 3 |
How Washington University (St. Louis) compares within Missouri
Among the 4 law schools in Missouri that report acceptance rate, Washington University (St. Louis) has the lowest.
The 4 law schools in Missouri, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Saint Louis University | 56.4% | 157 | 941 |
| University of Missouri-Kansas City | 45.9% | 156 | 714 |
| University of Missouri | 42.0% | 161 | 798 |
| Washington University (St. Louis) ← this school | 19.0% | 175 | 5,616 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $72,792 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $72,792 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | not reported |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $892 |
| Living on campus | not reported |
| Living off campus | $28,603 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How Washington University (St. Louis) compares within Missouri
Among the 2 law schools in Missouri that report annual tuition, Washington University (St. Louis) has the highest.
The 4 law schools in Missouri, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| Washington University (St. Louis) ← this school | $72,792 | $28,603 |
| Saint Louis University | $55,260 | $26,112 |
| University of Missouri | — | $22,002 |
| University of Missouri-Kansas City | — | $23,924 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 94.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $48,000 |
| 25th percentile grant | $40,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | $60,000 |
| Half tuition or less | 15.0% |
| Above half, below full | 58.0% |
| Full tuition | 11.0% |
| Above full tuition | 10.0% |
How Washington University (St. Louis) compares within Missouri
Among the 4 law schools in Missouri that report median grant, Washington University (St. Louis) has the highest.
The 4 law schools in Missouri, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| Washington University (St. Louis) ← this school | $48,000 | 94.0% |
| Saint Louis University | $25,000 | 97.0% |
| University of Missouri | $17,500 | 79.0% |
| University of Missouri-Kansas City | $7,270 | 85.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 1,122 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 787 |
| First-year JD students | 264 |
| Non-JD students | 335 |
| First-year class size | 261 |
How Washington University (St. Louis) compares within Missouri
Among the 4 law schools in Missouri that report jd students, Washington University (St. Louis) has the highest.
The 4 law schools in Missouri, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Washington University (St. Louis) ← this school | 787 | 264 |
| Saint Louis University | 594 | 225 |
| University of Missouri-Kansas City | 405 | 149 |
| University of Missouri | 373 | 130 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 270 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 242 |
| First-time passage rate | 89.6% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 96.0% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 96.8% |
How Washington University (St. Louis) compares within Missouri
Among the 4 law schools in Missouri that report first-time rate, Washington University (St. Louis) has the highest.
The 4 law schools in Missouri, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| Washington University (St. Louis) ← this school | 89.6% | 96.8% |
| Saint Louis University | 89.1% | 95.0% |
| University of Missouri | 86.2% | 88.8% |
| University of Missouri-Kansas City | 82.3% | 96.4% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 261 |
|---|---|
| White | 138 |
| Black | 5 |
| Hispanic | 25 |
| Asian | 74 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 11 |
| Race not reported | 7 |
| Men | 145 |
| Women | 106 |
| Another gender | 8 |
| Gender not reported | 2 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the Washington University (St. Louis) 509 report show?
Washington University (St. Louis)'s 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 5,616 applicants received 1,065 offers (19.0%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 175, the median grant was $48,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 89.6%.
How does Washington University (St. Louis) compare with other law schools in Missouri?
Among the 4 law schools in Missouri that report acceptance rate, Washington University (St. Louis) has the lowest.
How many applicants did Washington University (St. Louis) receive, and how many were admitted?
Washington University (St. Louis) received 5,616 completed applications and issued 1,065 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 19.0%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at Washington University (St. Louis)?
For Washington University (St. Louis), in-state tuition is $72,792 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $28,603, the median grant is $48,000 per year, 94% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at Washington University (St. Louis)?
Washington University (St. Louis) had a first-time bar passage rate of 89.6% across 270 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 96.8%.