Washburn University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Washburn University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Washburn University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 549 applicants received 255 offers (46.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $15,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 73.9%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Topeka, Kansas · Report year 2025 · all Washburn University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications549
Offers of admission255
Acceptance rate46.5%
Enrollees from the applicant pool136
Enrolled in the first-year class138
First-year class size137
LSAT 25th percentile151
LSAT median155
LSAT 75th percentile159
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.37
Undergraduate GPA median3.68
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.88
Students who submitted LSAT scores135
Students who submitted GRE scores2

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)not reported
Non-resident tuition (annual)not reported
Tuition reporting basisper credit hour
Per credit hour$932
Mandatory fees (full-time)not reported
Living on campus$16,043
Living off campus$17,018
Tuition guaranteeno

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid80.0%
Median grant (per year)$15,000
25th percentile grant$11,915
75th percentile grant$21,500
Half tuition or less36.0%
Above half, below full26.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition17.0%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)86
Kept the award after year one81.4%
Award reduced or eliminated16

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled355
JD students (all years)347
First-year JD students138
Non-JD students8
First-year class size137

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers92
First-time passers68
First-time passage rate73.9%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)89.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)85.0%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class137
White102
Black6
Hispanic7
Asian0
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial14
Race not reported7
Men68
Women65
Another gender1
Gender not reported3

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Washburn University 509 report show?

Washburn University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 549 applicants received 255 offers (46.5%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $15,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 73.9%.

How many applicants did Washburn University receive, and how many were admitted?

Washburn University received 549 completed applications and issued 255 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 46.5%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Washburn University?

For Washburn University, tuition is reported per credit hour at $932, off-campus living costs are estimated at $17,018, the median grant is $15,000 per year, 80% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Washburn University?

Washburn University had a first-time bar passage rate of 73.9% across 92 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 85.0%.