University of Washington ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Washington, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
University of Washington's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,412 applicants received 669 offers (19.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 165, the median grant was $14,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 92.6%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Seattle, Washington · Report year 2025 · all University of Washington data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 3,412 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 669 |
| Acceptance rate | 19.6% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 202 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 207 |
| First-year class size | 207 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 162 |
| LSAT median | 165 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 167 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.6 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.76 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.86 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 189 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 0 |
How University of Washington compares within Washington
Among the 3 law schools in Washington that report acceptance rate, University of Washington has the lowest.
The 3 law schools in Washington, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gonzaga University | 51.1% | 155 | 1,273 |
| Seattle University | 38.9% | 159 | 2,304 |
| University of Washington ← this school | 19.6% | 165 | 3,412 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $45,927 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $57,810 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | not reported |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $1,146 |
| Living on campus | $29,082 |
| Living off campus | $29,082 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How University of Washington compares within Washington
Among the 2 law schools in Washington that report annual tuition, University of Washington has the lowest.
The 3 law schools in Washington, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| Gonzaga University | $57,962 | $17,105 |
| University of Washington ← this school | $45,927 | $29,082 |
| Seattle University | — | $34,161 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 70.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $14,000 |
| 25th percentile grant | $7,500 |
| 75th percentile grant | $18,930 |
| Half tuition or less | 62.0% |
| Above half, below full | 9.0% |
| Full tuition | 0.0% |
| Above full tuition | 0.0% |
How University of Washington compares within Washington
Among the 3 law schools in Washington that report median grant, University of Washington has the lowest.
The 3 law schools in Washington, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| Gonzaga University | $32,000 | 98.0% |
| Seattle University | $30,000 | 87.0% |
| University of Washington ← this school | $14,000 | 70.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 770 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 568 |
| First-year JD students | 207 |
| Non-JD students | 202 |
| First-year class size | 207 |
How University of Washington compares within Washington
Among the 3 law schools in Washington that report jd students, University of Washington has the 2nd highest.
The 3 law schools in Washington, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Seattle University | 646 | 214 |
| University of Washington ← this school | 568 | 207 |
| Gonzaga University | 551 | 203 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 176 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 163 |
| First-time passage rate | 92.6% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 96.4% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 97.5% |
How University of Washington compares within Washington
Among the 3 law schools in Washington that report first-time rate, University of Washington has the highest.
The 3 law schools in Washington, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| University of Washington ← this school | 92.6% | 97.5% |
| Gonzaga University | 85.8% | 93.6% |
| Seattle University | 79.5% | 87.9% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 207 |
|---|---|
| White | 109 |
| Black | 15 |
| Hispanic | 19 |
| Asian | 35 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 1 |
| Multiracial | 16 |
| Race not reported | 11 |
| Men | 69 |
| Women | 131 |
| Another gender | 0 |
| Gender not reported | 7 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the University of Washington 509 report show?
University of Washington's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 3,412 applicants received 669 offers (19.6%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 165, the median grant was $14,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 92.6%.
How does University of Washington compare with other law schools in Washington?
Among the 3 law schools in Washington that report acceptance rate, University of Washington has the lowest.
How many applicants did University of Washington receive, and how many were admitted?
University of Washington received 3,412 completed applications and issued 669 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 19.6%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Washington?
For University of Washington, in-state tuition is $45,927 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $29,082, the median grant is $14,000 per year, 70% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at University of Washington?
University of Washington had a first-time bar passage rate of 92.6% across 176 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 97.5%.