Indiana University-Bloomington ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Indiana University-Bloomington, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Indiana University-Bloomington's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,831 applicants received 655 offers (35.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $33,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 84.6%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Bloomington, Indiana · Report year 2025 · all Indiana University-Bloomington data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications1,831
Offers of admission655
Acceptance rate35.8%
Enrollees from the applicant pool186
Enrolled in the first-year class186
First-year class size186
LSAT 25th percentile158
LSAT median164
LSAT 75th percentile166
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.63
Undergraduate GPA median3.91
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.98
Students who submitted LSAT scores172
Students who submitted GRE scores3

How Indiana University-Bloomington compares within Indiana

Among the 3 law schools in Indiana that report acceptance rate, Indiana University-Bloomington has the 2nd highest.

The 3 law schools in Indiana, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Indiana University-Indianapolis55.9%155904
Indiana University-Bloomington ← this school35.8%1641,831
University of Notre Dame16.1%1703,579

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$36,950
Non-resident tuition (annual)$58,000
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,522
Living on campus$25,822
Living off campus$25,822
Tuition guaranteeyes

How Indiana University-Bloomington compares within Indiana

Among the 2 law schools in Indiana that report annual tuition, Indiana University-Bloomington has the lowest.

The 3 law schools in Indiana, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Notre Dame$73,430$25,990
Indiana University-Bloomington ← this school$36,950$25,822
Indiana University-Indianapolis—$23,512

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid100.0%
Median grant (per year)$33,000
25th percentile grant$20,000
75th percentile grant$50,000
Half tuition or less30.0%
Above half, below full62.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition8.0%

How Indiana University-Bloomington compares within Indiana

Among the 3 law schools in Indiana that report median grant, Indiana University-Bloomington has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Indiana, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Indiana University-Bloomington ← this school$33,000100.0%
University of Notre Dame$30,00092.0%
Indiana University-Indianapolis$15,000101.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled549
JD students (all years)502
First-year JD students186
Non-JD students47
First-year class size186

How Indiana University-Bloomington compares within Indiana

Among the 3 law schools in Indiana that report jd students, Indiana University-Bloomington has the lowest.

The 3 law schools in Indiana, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Indiana University-Indianapolis829285
University of Notre Dame572185
Indiana University-Bloomington ← this school502186

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers156
First-time passers132
First-time passage rate84.6%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)93.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)92.2%

How Indiana University-Bloomington compares within Indiana

Among the 3 law schools in Indiana that report first-time rate, Indiana University-Bloomington has the 2nd highest.

The 3 law schools in Indiana, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
University of Notre Dame89.4%97.3%
Indiana University-Bloomington ← this school84.6%92.2%
Indiana University-Indianapolis80.4%89.3%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class186
White138
Black6
Hispanic15
Asian17
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial4
Race not reported6
Men88
Women95
Another gender1
Gender not reported2

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Indiana University-Bloomington 509 report show?

Indiana University-Bloomington's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,831 applicants received 655 offers (35.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $33,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 84.6%.

How does Indiana University-Bloomington compare with other law schools in Indiana?

Among the 3 law schools in Indiana that report acceptance rate, Indiana University-Bloomington has the 2nd highest.

How many applicants did Indiana University-Bloomington receive, and how many were admitted?

Indiana University-Bloomington received 1,831 completed applications and issued 655 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 35.8%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Indiana University-Bloomington?

For Indiana University-Bloomington, in-state tuition is $36,950 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $25,822, the median grant is $33,000 per year, 100% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Indiana University-Bloomington?

Indiana University-Bloomington had a first-time bar passage rate of 84.6% across 156 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 92.2%.