Indiana University-Indianapolis ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Indiana University-Indianapolis, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Indiana University-Indianapolis's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 904 applicants received 505 offers (55.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $15,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 80.4%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Indianapolis, Indiana · Report year 2025 · all Indiana University-Indianapolis data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications904
Offers of admission505
Acceptance rate55.9%
Enrollees from the applicant pool273
Enrolled in the first-year class285
First-year class size280
LSAT 25th percentile152
LSAT median155
LSAT 75th percentile159
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.33
Undergraduate GPA median3.58
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.82
Students who submitted LSAT scores273
Students who submitted GRE scores7

How Indiana University-Indianapolis compares within Indiana

Among the 3 law schools in Indiana that report acceptance rate, Indiana University-Indianapolis has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Indiana, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Indiana University-Indianapolis ← this school55.9%155904
Indiana University-Bloomington35.8%1641,831
University of Notre Dame16.1%1703,579

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)not reported
Non-resident tuition (annual)not reported
Tuition reporting basisper credit hour
Per credit hour$1,028
Mandatory fees (full-time)not reported
Living on campus$23,512
Living off campus$23,512
Tuition guaranteeno

How Indiana University-Indianapolis compares within Indiana

Indiana University-Indianapolis does not report annual tuition, so it cannot be placed among the 3 law schools in this state.

The 3 law schools in Indiana, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
University of Notre Dame$73,430$25,990
Indiana University-Bloomington$36,950$25,822
Indiana University-Indianapolis ← this school—$23,512

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid101.0%
Median grant (per year)$15,000
25th percentile grant$5,000
75th percentile grant$29,232
Half tuition or less69.0%
Above half, below full25.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition6.0%

How Indiana University-Indianapolis compares within Indiana

Among the 3 law schools in Indiana that report median grant, Indiana University-Indianapolis has the lowest.

The 3 law schools in Indiana, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Indiana University-Bloomington$33,000100.0%
University of Notre Dame$30,00092.0%
Indiana University-Indianapolis ← this school$15,000101.0%

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)172
Kept the award after year one88.4%
Award reduced or eliminated20

How Indiana University-Indianapolis compares within Indiana

Among the 1 law schools in Indiana that report retention rate, Indiana University-Indianapolis has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Indiana, ordered by retention rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolRetention rateEntering with award
Indiana University-Indianapolis ← this school88.4%172
Indiana University-Bloomington——
University of Notre Dame——

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled884
JD students (all years)829
First-year JD students285
Non-JD students55
First-year class size280

How Indiana University-Indianapolis compares within Indiana

Among the 3 law schools in Indiana that report jd students, Indiana University-Indianapolis has the highest.

The 3 law schools in Indiana, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Indiana University-Indianapolis ← this school829285
University of Notre Dame572185
Indiana University-Bloomington502186

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers209
First-time passers168
First-time passage rate80.4%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)87.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)89.3%

How Indiana University-Indianapolis compares within Indiana

Among the 3 law schools in Indiana that report first-time rate, Indiana University-Indianapolis has the lowest.

The 3 law schools in Indiana, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
University of Notre Dame89.4%97.3%
Indiana University-Bloomington84.6%92.2%
Indiana University-Indianapolis ← this school80.4%89.3%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class280
White192
Black17
Hispanic8
Asian9
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial42
Race not reported12
Men117
Women157
Another gender0
Gender not reported6

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Indiana University-Indianapolis 509 report show?

Indiana University-Indianapolis's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 904 applicants received 505 offers (55.9%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 155, the median grant was $15,000 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 80.4%.

How does Indiana University-Indianapolis compare with other law schools in Indiana?

Among the 3 law schools in Indiana that report acceptance rate, Indiana University-Indianapolis has the highest.

How many applicants did Indiana University-Indianapolis receive, and how many were admitted?

Indiana University-Indianapolis received 904 completed applications and issued 505 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 55.9%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Indiana University-Indianapolis?

For Indiana University-Indianapolis, tuition is reported per credit hour at $1,028, off-campus living costs are estimated at $23,512, the median grant is $15,000 per year, 101% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Indiana University-Indianapolis?

Indiana University-Indianapolis had a first-time bar passage rate of 80.4% across 209 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 89.3%.