Vanderbilt University ABA 509 Report
The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Vanderbilt University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.
Vanderbilt University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 6,124 applicants received 812 offers (13.3%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 170, the median grant was $32,792 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.6%.
What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →
Nashville, Tennessee · Report year 2025 · all Vanderbilt University data →
Admissions
Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Completed applications | 6,124 |
|---|---|
| Offers of admission | 812 |
| Acceptance rate | 13.3% |
| Enrollees from the applicant pool | 170 |
| Enrolled in the first-year class | 173 |
| First-year class size | 172 |
| LSAT 25th percentile | 167 |
| LSAT median | 170 |
| LSAT 75th percentile | 171 |
| Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile | 3.77 |
| Undergraduate GPA median | 3.91 |
| Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile | 3.97 |
| Students who submitted LSAT scores | 170 |
| Students who submitted GRE scores | 1 |
How Vanderbilt University compares within Tennessee
Among the 5 law schools in Tennessee that report acceptance rate, Vanderbilt University has the lowest.
The 5 law schools in Tennessee, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Acceptance rate | Median LSAT | Applications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lincoln Memorial University | 52.2% | 153 | 828 |
| The University of Memphis | 41.1% | 155 | 582 |
| Belmont University | 37.6% | 161 | 1,337 |
| University of Tennessee | 24.8% | 164 | 2,176 |
| Vanderbilt University ← this school | 13.3% | 170 | 6,124 |
Tuition, fees and living costs
What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Tuition (annual, full-time) | $76,440 |
|---|---|
| Non-resident tuition (annual) | $76,440 |
| Tuition reporting basis | annual |
| Per credit hour | not reported |
| Mandatory fees (full-time) | $2,359 |
| Living on campus | $34,934 |
| Living off campus | $34,934 |
| Tuition guarantee | no |
How Vanderbilt University compares within Tennessee
Among the 4 law schools in Tennessee that report annual tuition, Vanderbilt University has the highest.
The 5 law schools in Tennessee, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Annual tuition | Living off campus |
|---|---|---|
| Vanderbilt University ← this school | $76,440 | $34,934 |
| Belmont University | $55,500 | $32,026 |
| The University of Memphis | $18,634 | $28,729 |
| University of Tennessee | $16,696 | $26,216 |
| Lincoln Memorial University | — | $28,325 |
Grants and scholarships awarded
The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.
Source: Standard 509(b)(2)
| Students receiving grant aid | 90.0% |
|---|---|
| Median grant (per year) | $32,792 |
| 25th percentile grant | $17,500 |
| 75th percentile grant | $44,927 |
| Half tuition or less | 61.0% |
| Above half, below full | 24.0% |
| Full tuition | 2.0% |
| Above full tuition | 3.0% |
How Vanderbilt University compares within Tennessee
Among the 5 law schools in Tennessee that report median grant, Vanderbilt University has the 2nd highest.
The 5 law schools in Tennessee, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | Median grant | % receiving aid |
|---|---|---|
| Belmont University | $40,710 | 62.0% |
| Vanderbilt University ← this school | $32,792 | 90.0% |
| Lincoln Memorial University | $28,000 | 100.0% |
| The University of Memphis | $11,000 | 62.0% |
| University of Tennessee | $10,550 | 89.0% |
Enrollment
How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.
Source: Standard 509(b)(4)
| Total students enrolled | 656 |
|---|---|
| JD students (all years) | 525 |
| First-year JD students | 173 |
| Non-JD students | 131 |
| First-year class size | 172 |
How Vanderbilt University compares within Tennessee
Among the 5 law schools in Tennessee that report jd students, Vanderbilt University has the highest.
The 5 law schools in Tennessee, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | JD students | First-year JD |
|---|---|---|
| Vanderbilt University ← this school | 525 | 173 |
| Lincoln Memorial University | 429 | 165 |
| University of Tennessee | 419 | 140 |
| Belmont University | 372 | 136 |
| The University of Memphis | 239 | 97 |
Bar passage
First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.
Source: Standard 509(b)(8)
| First-time takers | 168 |
|---|---|
| First-time passers | 159 |
| First-time passage rate | 94.6% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2023) | 98.5% |
| Ultimate passage rate (2024) | 97.5% |
How Vanderbilt University compares within Tennessee
Among the 5 law schools in Tennessee that report first-time rate, Vanderbilt University has the 2nd highest.
The 5 law schools in Tennessee, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.
| School | First-time rate | Ultimate rate |
|---|---|---|
| Belmont University | 96.5% | 100.0% |
| Vanderbilt University ← this school | 94.6% | 97.5% |
| University of Tennessee | 85.6% | 95.2% |
| Lincoln Memorial University | 78.7% | 81.5% |
| The University of Memphis | 72.6% | 92.8% |
Entering class composition
Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.
Source: Standard 509(b)(1)
| Students in the entering class | 172 |
|---|---|
| White | 122 |
| Black | 5 |
| Hispanic | 14 |
| Asian | 24 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Multiracial | 1 |
| Race not reported | 5 |
| Men | 76 |
| Women | 96 |
| Another gender | 0 |
| Gender not reported | 0 |
Where to go next
- Admissions funnel — applications through to enrolment, with yield rates
- Cost of attendance — three-year totals, and what aid changes
- Financial aid breakdown — the four funding bands in detail
- Bar passage — first-time and ultimate rates
- Employment outcomes — where graduates went
- Scholarship calculator — what your own LSAT and GPA would place you in
Common questions
What does the Vanderbilt University 509 report show?
Vanderbilt University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 6,124 applicants received 812 offers (13.3%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 170, the median grant was $32,792 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.6%.
How does Vanderbilt University compare with other law schools in Tennessee?
Among the 5 law schools in Tennessee that report acceptance rate, Vanderbilt University has the lowest.
How many applicants did Vanderbilt University receive, and how many were admitted?
Vanderbilt University received 6,124 completed applications and issued 812 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 13.3%.
What is the tuition and grant aid at Vanderbilt University?
For Vanderbilt University, in-state tuition is $76,440 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $34,934, the median grant is $32,792 per year, 90% of students receive grant aid.
What is the bar passage rate at Vanderbilt University?
Vanderbilt University had a first-time bar passage rate of 94.6% across 168 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 97.5%.