University of Tennessee ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for University of Tennessee, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

University of Tennessee's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,176 applicants received 539 offers (24.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $10,550 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.6%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Knoxville, Tennessee · Report year 2025 · all University of Tennessee data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications2,176
Offers of admission539
Acceptance rate24.8%
Enrollees from the applicant pool139
Enrolled in the first-year class140
First-year class size140
LSAT 25th percentile160
LSAT median164
LSAT 75th percentile166
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.67
Undergraduate GPA median3.89
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.95
Students who submitted LSAT scores140
Students who submitted GRE scores0

How University of Tennessee compares within Tennessee

Among the 5 law schools in Tennessee that report acceptance rate, University of Tennessee has the 4th highest.

The 5 law schools in Tennessee, ordered by acceptance rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAcceptance rateMedian LSATApplications
Lincoln Memorial University52.2%153828
The University of Memphis41.1%155582
Belmont University37.6%1611,337
University of Tennessee ← this school24.8%1642,176
Vanderbilt University13.3%1706,124

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$16,696
Non-resident tuition (annual)$35,140
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$3,866
Living on campus$26,216
Living off campus$26,216
Tuition guaranteeno

How University of Tennessee compares within Tennessee

Among the 4 law schools in Tennessee that report annual tuition, University of Tennessee has the lowest.

The 5 law schools in Tennessee, ordered by annual tuition. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolAnnual tuitionLiving off campus
Vanderbilt University$76,440$34,934
Belmont University$55,500$32,026
The University of Memphis$18,634$28,729
University of Tennessee ← this school$16,696$26,216
Lincoln Memorial University—$28,325

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid89.0%
Median grant (per year)$10,550
25th percentile grant$8,000
75th percentile grant$14,000
Half tuition or less67.0%
Above half, below full18.0%
Full tuition0.0%
Above full tuition4.0%

How University of Tennessee compares within Tennessee

Among the 5 law schools in Tennessee that report median grant, University of Tennessee has the lowest.

The 5 law schools in Tennessee, ordered by median grant. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolMedian grant% receiving aid
Belmont University$40,71062.0%
Vanderbilt University$32,79290.0%
Lincoln Memorial University$28,000100.0%
The University of Memphis$11,00062.0%
University of Tennessee ← this school$10,55089.0%

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled510
JD students (all years)419
First-year JD students140
Non-JD students91
First-year class size140

How University of Tennessee compares within Tennessee

Among the 5 law schools in Tennessee that report jd students, University of Tennessee has the 3rd highest.

The 5 law schools in Tennessee, ordered by jd students. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolJD studentsFirst-year JD
Vanderbilt University525173
Lincoln Memorial University429165
University of Tennessee ← this school419140
Belmont University372136
The University of Memphis23997

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers125
First-time passers107
First-time passage rate85.6%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)92.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)95.2%

How University of Tennessee compares within Tennessee

Among the 5 law schools in Tennessee that report first-time rate, University of Tennessee has the 3rd highest.

The 5 law schools in Tennessee, ordered by first-time rate. Schools that did not report a figure are shown as — and are not ranked.

SchoolFirst-time rateUltimate rate
Belmont University96.5%100.0%
Vanderbilt University94.6%97.5%
University of Tennessee ← this school85.6%95.2%
Lincoln Memorial University78.7%81.5%
The University of Memphis72.6%92.8%

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class140
White103
Black3
Hispanic15
Asian5
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial5
Race not reported9
Men52
Women81
Another gender1
Gender not reported6

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the University of Tennessee 509 report show?

University of Tennessee's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 2,176 applicants received 539 offers (24.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 164, the median grant was $10,550 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 85.6%.

How does University of Tennessee compare with other law schools in Tennessee?

Among the 5 law schools in Tennessee that report acceptance rate, University of Tennessee has the 4th highest.

How many applicants did University of Tennessee receive, and how many were admitted?

University of Tennessee received 2,176 completed applications and issued 539 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 24.8%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at University of Tennessee?

For University of Tennessee, in-state tuition is $16,696 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $26,216, the median grant is $10,550 per year, 89% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at University of Tennessee?

University of Tennessee had a first-time bar passage rate of 85.6% across 125 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 95.2%.