Brigham Young University ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for Brigham Young University, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

Brigham Young University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 649 applicants received 148 offers (22.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 170, the median grant was $11,646 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 96.8%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Provo, Utah · Report year 2025 · all Brigham Young University data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications649
Offers of admission148
Acceptance rate22.8%
Enrollees from the applicant pool120
Enrolled in the first-year class122
First-year class size122
LSAT 25th percentile168
LSAT median170
LSAT 75th percentile172
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.82
Undergraduate GPA median3.95
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.98
Students who submitted LSAT scores80
Students who submitted GRE scores1

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$15,992
Non-resident tuition (annual)$31,984
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hour$940
Mandatory fees (full-time)not reported
Living on campus$20,292
Living off campus$22,436
Tuition guaranteeno

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid98.0%
Median grant (per year)$11,646
25th percentile grant$3,882
75th percentile grant$15,528
Half tuition or less39.0%
Above half, below full14.0%
Full tuition21.0%
Above full tuition25.0%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Conditional scholarships

Awards that must be re-earned each year. The retention figure is the share that kept the award after review.

Source: Standard 509(b)(3)

Offers conditional scholarshipsyes
Entering with a conditional award (2024)3
Kept the award after year one100.0%
Award reduced or eliminated0

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled358
JD students (all years)348
First-year JD students122
Non-JD students10
First-year class size122

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers127
First-time passers123
First-time passage rate96.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)100.0%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)98.6%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class122
White105
Black0
Hispanic2
Asian7
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander2
Multiracial1
Race not reported4
Men66
Women56
Another gender0
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the Brigham Young University 509 report show?

Brigham Young University's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 649 applicants received 148 offers (22.8%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 170, the median grant was $11,646 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 96.8%.

How many applicants did Brigham Young University receive, and how many were admitted?

Brigham Young University received 649 completed applications and issued 148 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 22.8%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at Brigham Young University?

For Brigham Young University, in-state tuition is $15,992 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $22,436, the median grant is $11,646 per year, 98% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at Brigham Young University?

Brigham Young University had a first-time bar passage rate of 96.8% across 127 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 98.6%.