The University of Utah ABA 509 Report

The 2025 Standard 509 disclosure for The University of Utah, laid out by section: admissions, costs, aid, conditional scholarships, enrolment, bar passage and class composition.

The University of Utah's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,495 applicants received 378 offers (25.3%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 166, the median grant was $28,410 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.6%.

What this is. Every figure below comes from the school's own Standard 509 filing to the ABA, as published in the public disclosure data. Tables follow the report's own sections rather than a reorganisation by topic, so you can line each number up against the original. Where a school did not report a figure, it saysnot reported — nothing here is filled in with an average or an estimate. How to read these numbers →

Salt Lake City, Utah · Report year 2025 · all The University of Utah data →

Admissions

Applications, offers and enrolment for the entering class, plus the LSAT and GPA percentiles of the students who matriculated.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Completed applications1,495
Offers of admission378
Acceptance rate25.3%
Enrollees from the applicant pool106
Enrolled in the first-year class107
First-year class size107
LSAT 25th percentile162
LSAT median166
LSAT 75th percentile168
Undergraduate GPA 25th percentile3.62
Undergraduate GPA median3.87
Undergraduate GPA 75th percentile3.94
Students who submitted LSAT scores104
Students who submitted GRE scores0

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Tuition, fees and living costs

What the school charges and what it estimates students will spend living.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Tuition (annual, full-time)$34,721
Non-resident tuition (annual)$45,382
Tuition reporting basisannual
Per credit hournot reported
Mandatory fees (full-time)$1,108
Living on campus$31,520
Living off campus$38,078
Tuition guaranteeno

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Grants and scholarships awarded

The share of students receiving grant aid, the size of those awards, and how they are distributed across the four funding bands.

Source: Standard 509(b)(2)

Students receiving grant aid91.0%
Median grant (per year)$28,410
25th percentile grant$14,205
75th percentile grant$37,996
Half tuition or less27.0%
Above half, below full47.0%
Full tuition8.0%
Above full tuition9.0%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Enrollment

How many students the school enrolled, and how that breaks down by degree.

Source: Standard 509(b)(4)

Total students enrolled354
JD students (all years)313
First-year JD students107
Non-JD students41
First-year class size107

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Bar passage

First-time passage is the share passing on the first attempt; ultimate passage counts retakes over two years.

Source: Standard 509(b)(8)

First-time takers92
First-time passers87
First-time passage rate94.6%
Ultimate passage rate (2023)98.8%
Ultimate passage rate (2024)99.0%

This state has 2 law schools, too few for a useful side-by-side comparison.

Entering class composition

Race and gender of the entering class, as reported by the school. Categories follow the school's own reporting.

Source: Standard 509(b)(1)

Students in the entering class107
White81
Black0
Hispanic10
Asian5
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0
Multiracial5
Race not reported5
Men40
Women65
Another gender2
Gender not reported0

Where to go next

Common questions

What does the The University of Utah 509 report show?

The University of Utah's 2025 Standard 509 disclosure reports that 1,495 applicants received 378 offers (25.3%), the entering class had a median LSAT of 166, the median grant was $28,410 per year, the first-time bar passage rate was 94.6%.

How many applicants did The University of Utah receive, and how many were admitted?

The University of Utah received 1,495 completed applications and issued 378 offers of admission, an acceptance rate of 25.3%.

What is the tuition and grant aid at The University of Utah?

For The University of Utah, in-state tuition is $34,721 per year, off-campus living costs are estimated at $38,078, the median grant is $28,410 per year, 91% of students receive grant aid.

What is the bar passage rate at The University of Utah?

The University of Utah had a first-time bar passage rate of 94.6% across 92 takers in the most recent cycle. The two-year ultimate passage rate was 99.0%.